Skip to content

Momentum Building: Eight More Senators Join Landmark Criminal Justice Reform Bill

One fifth of U.S. Senate now cosponsors of Grassley-Durbin legislation

WASHINGTON – Over the last week, eight additional cosponsors have joined the Sentencing Reform and Corrections Act of 2017, bringing the total number of cosponsors to 20. The bill is slated for a vote in committee this coming Thursday, February 15.
Senators joining the list of cosponsors include:
·         Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho),
·         Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.),
·         Sen. Richard Burr (R-N.C.),
·         Sen. Chris Coons (D-Del.),
·         Sen. Pat Roberts (R-Kan.),
·         Sen. Gary Peters (D-Mich.),
·         Sen. Joni Ernst (R-Iowa); and
·         Sen. Bob Casey (D-Penn.).
Last Congress, this landmark legislation had fewer cosponsors before it was taken up by the Senate Judiciary Committee, where it was approved with a sweeping vote of 15-5.