Skip to content

Senate Judiciary Committee Votes to Advance Three Judicial Nominees

WASHINGTON – Today, the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee advanced three judicial nominations to the full Senate, continuing the Committee’s work filling judicial and executive vacancies with highly qualified, diverse candidates who help ensure the fair and impartial administration of the American justice system.

“I would like to thank Senators Lankford and Mullin and the White House for their bipartisan commitment to filling these two district court vacancies in Oklahoma. Their willingness to work together has resulted in two outstanding nominees, which we advanced this morning. Today’s votes continue Senate Democrats’ efforts to bring balance to the federal judiciary by advancing nominees who are committed to fair justice for all to the full Senate, and we’re moving ahead with our efforts,” said U.S. Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL), Chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Following today’s meeting and the confirmation of Judge Loren AliKhan to the District of D.C., the Senate has confirmed 161 judges to lifetime appointments on the federal bench under Chair Durbin and during the Biden administration. Now, nineteen lifetime judges – including three circuit court nominees and fourteen district court nominees – are eligible for a vote on the Senate floor.

The following nominees advanced by the indicated vote totals:

  • Sara E. Hill, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Oklahoma: 14-7
  • John David Russell, to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Oklahoma: 18-3
  • Ramona Villagomez Manglona, to be Judge for the District Court of the Northern Mariana Islands: 20-1