Skip to content

Durbin Statement on Designation of Ukraine for Temporary Protected Status

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL), Chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee and Co-Chair of the Senate Ukraine Caucus, today released the following statement on the announcement that President Biden and the Department of Homeland Security have designated Ukraine for Temporary Protected Status:

“I applaud President Biden and Secretary Mayorkas for taking decisive action to help Ukrainians currently in America stay here safely.  While the Ukrainian people put up a historically brave fight in defense of their homeland, the President has reaffirmed our nation’s commitment to stand with Ukraine and protect the safety of Ukrainian nationals.”

Earlier this week, Durbin, along with U.S. Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Chair of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee; and U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-OH), Ranking Member of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee and Co-Chair of the Senate Ukraine Caucus, led 40 Senators in a letter to President Biden urging the Administration to grant Temporary Protected Status (TPS) to Ukrainians in the United States following the Russian military invasion of Ukraine.