The State of Patent Eligibility in America: Part II
Subcommittee Hearing

Subcommittee on Intellectual Property
Date: Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Time: 02:30 PM
Location: Dirksen Senate Office Building 226
Presiding: Chairman Tillis
Open in New Window


Panel I

  1. Ms. Barbara Fiacco
    Partner, Foley Hoag
    President-Elect, American Intellectual Property Law Association
    Arlington , VA
  2. Mr. Scott Patridge
    Immediate Past Chair, Intellectual Property Law Section
    American Bar Association
    Houston , TX
  3. Mr. Henry Hadad
    Intellectual Property Owners Association
    Princeton , NJ
  4. Mr. David Jones
    Executive Director
    High Tech Inventors Alliance
    Washington , DC
  5. Ms. Stephanie Martz
    Senior Vice President, General Counsel, National Retail Federation
    On behalf of United for Patent Reform
    Washington , DC

Panel II

  1. Mr. Paul Morinville
    U.S. Inventor
    Highland , IN
  2. Mr. Phil Johnson
    Chair, Steering Committee
    Coalition for 21st Century Patent Reform
    New Brunswick , NJ
  3. Dr. William G. Jenks, PhD, JD
    Principal, Jenks IP Law
    On behalf of Internet Association
    Washington , DC
  4. Mr. Christopher Mohr
    Vice President for Intellectual Property and General Counsel
    Software and Information Industry Association
    Washington , DC
  5. Mr. Jeffrey A. Birchak
    General Counsel, Vice President of Intellectual Property, and Secretary, Fallbrook Technologies
    On behalf of Innovation Alliance
    Cedar Park , TX

Panel III

  1. Mr. Jeff Francer
    General Counsel
    Association for Accessible Medicines
    Washington , DC
  2. Mr. Hans Sauer
    Deputy General Counsel for Intellectual Property
    Biotechnology Innovation Organization
    Washington , DC
  3. Ms. Natalie M. Derzko
    Of Counsel, Covington & Burling LLP
    On behalf of Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
    Washington , DC
  4. Mr. Rick Brandon
    Associate General Counsel, The University of Michigan
    On behalf of Association of American Universities and the Association of University Technology Managers
    Ann Arbor , MI
  5. Ms. Kate Ruane
    Senior Legislative Counsel
    American Civil Liberties Union
    New York , NY