Skip to content

Durbin, Grassley Announce Subcommittees and Subcommittee Chairs and Ranking Members of Senate Judiciary Committee

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senate Democratic Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL), Chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee, and Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Ranking Member of the Senate Judiciary Committee today announced the establishment of the Subcommittees of the Senate Judiciary Committee for the 117th Congress, and the assignment of Chairs and Ranking Members to these Subcommittees.  Durbin reconstituted the Human Rights and the Law Subcommittee, the first standing body of the Senate dedicated to human rights, which he had previously chaired.  Durbin also reestablished the Privacy and Technology Subcommittee to focus on timely legal issues in the Judiciary Committee’s jurisdiction.

“The Senate Judiciary Committee is arguably one of the most important committees in Congress.  The historic hearings held before it in the last half century is long and filled with memorable testimony,” Durbin said.  “We have a talented group of members.  I look forward to these Subcommittees leading the national debate on the critical issues we face.”

“The Judiciary Committee is responsible for debating the policy and personnel that impact many of our most core principles as a society: justice, fairness, due process, the Constitution and the rule of law.  It is also responsible for ensuring that civil liberties are protected and that agencies entrusted to enforce our laws do so in a dependable, even-handed manner.  It’s an honor to serve on this committee, and I look forward to working with my committee colleagues on these important priorities,” Grassley said.

Senate Judiciary Subcommittee Chair assignments for the 117th Congress are as follows:

Subcommittee on Competition Policy, Antitrust, and Consumer Rights – Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Chair; Senator Mike Lee (R-UT), Ranking Member

Subcommittee on the Constitution – Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Chair; Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX), Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Criminal Justice and Counterterrorism – Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ), Chair; Senator Tom Cotton (R-AR), Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Human Rights and the Law – Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Chair; Senator Josh Hawley (R-MO), Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Immigration, Citizenship, and Border Safety – Senator Alex Padilla (D-CA), Chair; Senator John Cornyn (R-TX), Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Intellectual Property – Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Chair; Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC), Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Federal Courts, Oversight, Agency Action, and Federal Rights – Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Chair; Senator John Kennedy (R-LA), Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Privacy, Technology, and the Law – Senator Chris Coons (D-DE), Chair; Senator Ben Sasse (R-NE), Ranking Member