Executive Business Meeting
Business Meeting

Full Committee
Date: Wednesday, April 25, 2007
Time: 10:00 AM

There was no video broadcast for this event.



The Executive Business Meeting originally scheduled by the Committee on the Judiciary for Thursday, April 19, 2007 at 10:00 a.m. in the Senate Dirksen Building Room 226 has been rescheduled for Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 10:00 a.m.

By order of the Chairman

Senate Judiciary Committee
Senate Dirksen Office Building Room 226
Wednesday, April 25, 2007 at 10:00 a.m.

I. Committee Authorization

Authorization of Subpoenas in Connection with Investigation into Replacement of U.S. Attorneys

II. Bills

S.376, Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2007
(Leahy, Specter, Grassley, Kyl, Sessions, Cornyn)

S.119, War Profiteering Prevention Act of 2007
(Leahy, Feinstein, Feingold, Schumer, Durbin, Cardin)

S.1079, Star-Spangled Banner and War of 1812 Bicentennial Commission Act
(Cardin, Warner, Kennedy)

S.735, Terrorist Hoax Improvements Act of 2007
(Kennedy, Kyl, Coleman, Schumer, Leahy, Grassley, Cornyn)

H.R.740, Preventing Harassment through Outbound Number Enforcement (PHONE) Act of 2007
(Scott, Conyers, Forbes, Boucher, Jackson-Lee, Gutierrez, Sherman)

S. 221, Fair Contracts for Growers Act of 2007
(Grassley, Feingold, Kohl, Leahy, Durbin)

S. 495, Personal Data Privacy and Security Act of 2007
(Leahy, Specter, Feingold, Schumer)

S.239, Notification of Risk to Personal Data Act of 2007

S.879, No Oil Producing and Exporting Cartels Act of 2007
(Kohl, Specter, Leahy, Grassley, Feingold, Schumer, Coburn, Durbin)

III. Nominations

Robert Gideon Howard, Jr.
to be United States Marshall for the Eastern District of Arkansas

Frederick J. Kapala
to be United States District Judge for the Northern District of Illinois

Benjamin Hale Settle
to be United States District Judge for the Western District of Washington

John Roberts Hackman
to be United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Virginia

IV. Resolutions

S. Res. 125, designating May 18, 2007 as "Endangered Species Day"
(Feinstein, Collins, Feingold, Biden)

S. Res. 116, designating May 2007 as "National Autoimmune Disease Awareness Month"

S. Res. 146, designating June 20, 2007, as "American Eagle Day"
(Alexander, Byrd, Kennedy, Feinstein)

S. Res. 162, commemorating and acknowledging the dedication and sacrifice made by the men and women who have lost their lives while serving as law enforcement officers
(Leahy, Specter, Biden, Grassley, Cornyn, Durbin)

Member Statements

  1. Senator Patrick Leahy (D - VT)