Executive Business Meeting
Business Meeting

Full Committee
Date: Thursday, April 29, 2004
Time: 09:30 AM

There was no video broadcast for this event.


An Executive Business Meeting has been scheduled by the Committee on the Judiciary for Thursday,

April 29, 2004 at 9:30 a.m. in the Senate Dirksen Building, Room 226.

By order of the Chairman


Executive Business Meeting
Senate Judiciary Committee

226 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Thursday, April 29, 2004 at 9:30 a.m.

I. Nominations

Henry W. Saad

to be U.S. Circuit Judge for the Sixth Circuit

William Duane Benton

to be United States Circuit Judge for the Eighth Circuit

Robert Bryan Harwell

to be United States District Judge for the District of South Carolina

George P. Schiavelli

to be United States District Judge for the Central District of California

Curtis V. Gomez

to be Judge for the District Court of the Virgin Islands

II. Legislation

S. 1735, Gang Prevention and Effective Deterrence Act of 2003

[Hatch, Feinstein, Grassley, Graham, Chambliss, Cornyn, Schumer]

S. 2107, A bill to authorize an annual appropriations of $10,000,000 for mental health courts through fiscal year 2009

[DeWine, Leahy]

S. 2192, Cooperative Research and Technology Enhancement (CREATE) Act of 2004

[Hatch, Leahy, Kohl, Feingold, Schumer, Grassley]

S. 1933, Enhancing Federal Obscenity Reporting and Copyright Enforcement (ENFORCE) Act of 2003

[Hatch, Feinstein, Cornyn]

S. 2237, Protecting Intellectual Rights Against Theft and Expropriation (PIRATE) Act of 2004 [Leahy, Hatch, Schumer]

S. 1932, Artists' Rights and Theft Prevention (ART) Act of 2003

[Cornyn, Feinstein, DeWine, Durbin, Graham, Hatch, Kennedy, Schumer]

H.R. 1561, United States Patent and Trademark Fee Modernization Act of 2004

S. 1635, A bill to amend the Immigration and Nationality Act to ensure the integrity of the L-1 visa for intracompany transferees


S. 1609, Parental Responsibility Obligations Met through Immigration System Enforcement (PROMISE) Act
[Hatch, Cornyn]

S. 1129, Unaccompanied Alien Child Protection Act of 2003

[Feinstein, DeWine, Durbin, Edwards, Feingold, Kennedy, Kohl, Leahy, Schumer, Specter]

S. Res. 334 A resolution designating May 2004 as National Electrical Safety Month

[Fitzgerald, Feinstein]

Member Statements

  1. Senator Patrick Leahy (D - VT)
  2. Senator Orrin G. Hatch (R - UT)