Results of Executive Business Meeting – May 20, 2021

The Senate Judiciary Committee held an executive business meeting to consider pending nominations and legislation on May 20, 2021.

Agenda

I. Nominees

Ketanji Brown Jackson, to be United States Circuit Judge for the District of Columbia Circuit

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 13-9

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn

Nay: Grassley, Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley (Proxy), Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis, Blackburn (Proxy)

Candace Jackson-Akiwumi, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Seventh Circuit

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 12-10

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham (Proxy)

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley (Proxy), Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis, Blackburn (Proxy)

Julien Xavier Neals, to be United States District Judge for the District of New Jersey

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 16-6

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn, Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis

Nay: Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Zahid N. Quraishi, to be United States District Judge for the District of New Jersey

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE

19-3

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis, Blackburn (Proxy)

Nay: Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley

Regina M. Rodriguez, to be United States District Judge for the District of Colorado **REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE** 17-5

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn, Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis, Blackburn (Proxy)

Nay: Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy)

II. Bills

S. 312, COVID-19 Safer Detention Act of 2021 (Durbin, Grassley, Whitehouse, Tillis, Coons, Booker)

HELD

S. 601, Prohibiting Punishment of Acquitted Conduct Act of 2021 (Durbin, Grassley, Leahy, Lee, Booker, Tillis)

HELD

S. 1014, First Step Implementation Act of 2021 (Durbin, Grassley)

HELD