Results of Executive Business Meeting – June 24, 2021

The Senate Judiciary Committee held an executive business meeting to consider pending nominations and legislation on June 24, 2021.

Agenda

I. Nominees

Margaret Irene Strickland, to be United States District Judge for the District of New Mexico

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 12-10

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham (Proxy)

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy, Tillis (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

David H. Chipman, to be Director, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives

TIE VOTE ON MOTION TO FAVORABLY REPORT OUT OF COMMITTEE: ROLL CALL VOTE 11-11

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff

Nay: Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Ur Mendoza Jaddou, to be Director, United States Citizenship and Immigration Services

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE

11-10-1

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff

Nay: Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley (Proxy), Cotton, Kennedy, Blackburn (Proxy)

Pass: Tillis (Proxy)

Eunice C. Lee, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Second Circuit **HELD**

Veronica S. Rossman, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Tenth Circuit **HELD**

David G. Estudillo, to be United States District Judge for the Western District of Washington

HELD

Lauren J. King, to be United States District Judge for the Western District of Washington **HELD**

Tana Lin, to be United States District Judge for the Western District of Washington **HELD**

II. Bills

S. 807, Cameras in the Courtroom Act of 2021 (Durbin, Grassley, Klobuchar, Blumenthal, Leahy)

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 15-7

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis (Proxy)

Nay: Feinstein, Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Cruz Amendment SIL21744

FAILED: ROLL CALL VOTE

7-15

Aye: Graham (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Tillis (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Nay: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Grassley, Cornyn (Proxy), Lee (Proxy), Kennedy

Cruz Amendment SIL21757

FAILED: ROLL CALL VOTE

11-11

Aye: Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn (Proxy), Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Nay: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff

S. 818, Sunshine in the Courtroom Act of 2021 (Grassley, Klobuchar, Durbin, Cornyn, Leahy, Blumenthal)

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 16-6

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn (Proxy), Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis (Proxy)

Nay: Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)