March 1, 2021

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chairman, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Member, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

We are former colleagues of Lisa Monaco, and we write in strong bipartisan support of her nomination to be the next Deputy Attorney General for the U.S. Department of Justice. All of us have held, at one time or another, senior positions within the Justice Department, under both Democrat and Republican Administrations, and have worked with Ms. Monaco. Ms. Monaco has the necessary experience, judgment and character to serve the country well in this position. She is committed to all of the hallmarks of justice, fairness and the rule of law and is exceptionally qualified to be Deputy Attorney General.

Ms. Monaco has had a long and distinguished career with the Department of Justice as a prosecutor, in various senior level positions throughout the Department, and particularly in the national security area. She has a depth and breadth of experience with criminal justice issues. She was an Assistant United States Attorney in the District of Columbia, and was appointed as a member of the Enron Task Force. She tried numerous criminal cases in areas ranging from violent crime to white collar crime. She received several Awards for Special Achievement for her service, including the prestigious Attorney General's Award for Exceptional Service for her work on the Enron Task Force. Ms. Monaco also held several other high level Department positions including Chief of Staff for the Director of the FBI, Counsel to the Attorney General, and Principal Associate Deputy Attorney General. In 2011, Ms. Monaco was appointed by President Obama and confirmed by the Senate to be the Assistant Attorney General for the National Security Division at the Department, managing and leading the Division overseeing the investigation of terrorism and espionage cases as well as ensuring against national security threats, including cyber threats. Her knowledge of the Department is likely unmatched given all of positions she has held from the early days of her career. We strongly believe that Ms. Monaco's experience at every level of the Department, and her proven management experience and leadership ability, will provide the Department with excellent stewardship.

Ms. Monaco also served as Assistant to President Obama for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism, the chief counterterrorism advisor to the President. In this role, Ms. Monaco worked tirelessly to protect our country against threats. She worked with Departments and organizations across the U.S. government, the private sector and throughout the world to ensure our safety. She has demonstrated her ability to

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin The Honorable Charles E. Grassley March 1, 2021 Page 2

collaborate in the national and international arena and is a proven leader and manager in this respect as well.

Ms. Monaco is known throughout for her professionalism, legal acumen, ethics, and fairness. Her years of public service and commitment to justice are quite admirable. We are confident that Ms. Monaco possesses the character and experience to be a strong and effective leader of the Department as the Deputy Attorney General. We thank the Committee for allowing us to present this information about her and believe that our country would be well-served to see her confirmed.

Respectfully,

Greg D. Andres

Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2010-2012)

Lanny Breuer

Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2009-2013)

Steve Bunnell

General Counsel, Department of Homeland Security (2013-17)

Leslie Caldwell

Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2014-17)

Benton Campbell

Interim United States Attorney, Eastern District of New York (2007-10)

Michael Chertoff

Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security (2005-09)

Steven Fagell

Deputy Chief of Staff and Counsel to the Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2009-2010)

Alice Fisher

Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2005-08)

James M. Garland

Deputy Chief of Staff and Counsel to the Attorney General (2009-2010)

Candace Kelly

Senior Counsel to the Deputy Attorney General (2009-2010)

Kimberley Harris

Senior Counsel to the Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division, 2009-2010

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin The Honorable Charles E. Grassley March 1, 2021 Page 3

Stuart Levey

Undersecretary of the Treasury for Terrorism and Financial Intelligence (2004-11)

Sigal Mandelker

Undersecretary of the Treasury for Terrorism and Financial Intelligence (2017-19)

Mary McCord

Acting Assistant Attorney General, National Security Division (2016-2017)

Marshall L. Miller

Chief of Staff and Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2014-2015)

William E. Moschella

Assistant Attorney General, Office of Legislative Affairs (2003-2006)

David A. O'Neil

Acting Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2014)

Mythili Raman

Acting Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2013-2014)

John Richter

United State Attorney, Western District of Oklahoma (2005-09)

Paul Rosen

Counselor to the Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2009-2011)

Chuck Rosenberg

United States Attorney, Eastern District of Virginia (2006-08)

John Roth

Inspector General, Department of Homeland Security (2014-17)

Patrick Rowan

Assistant Attorney General, National Security Division (2008-09)

Kathryn Ruemmler

Counsel to the President of the United States (2011-14)

Scott Schools

Associate Deputy Attorney General (2008-2013; 2016-2018)

Barry Sabin

Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division (2006-08)

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin The Honorable Charles E. Grassley March 1, 2021 Page 4

Ed Siskel

Associate Deputy Attorney General, 2009-2010

Jeff Taylor

Interim United States Attorney, District of Columbia (2006-09)

Ronald J. Tenpas

Assistant Attorney General, Environment and Natural Resources Division (2007-2009)