July 23, 2021

The Honorable Richard Durbin Chairman Senate Committee on the Judiciary Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Charles Grassley Ranking Member Senate Committee on the Judiciary Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

We are pleased to write in support of the nomination of **Toby J. Heytens** to be United States Circuit Judge for the Fourth Circuit.

Each of us served in the Office of the Solicitor General with Mr. Heytens, who was an Assistant to the Solicitor General from 2007-2010 (spanning portions of the Bush and Obama Administrations) as well as a Bristow Fellow in 2001-2002. The signatories to this letter include members of both parties with a wide variety of jurisprudential views. But our professional experience with Mr. Heytens leaves each of us confident that he is highly qualified to serve on the Fourth Circuit and will be an excellent appellate judge.

Mr. Heytens demonstrated superb skills as a writer, legal analyst, and oral advocate before the Supreme Court during his time in the Office. In addition to his work on his own cases (including six oral arguments before the Court), he was particularly well known as a thoughtful and incisive participant in the Office's moot courts, helping to prepare other attorneys for their oral arguments. Although his questions were sharp, his tone never was. Whatever the subject matter, Mr. Heytens reliably spotted the weak points in both sides' arguments and gave clear-headed, objective advice about how best to present the government's position.

Some of us have also been involved in Supreme Court cases that Mr. Heytens has handled either through the UVA Supreme Court clinic or as Solicitor General of Virginia. Whether we were aligned with or against him, we saw once again that he is a truly excellent lawyer.

To be an excellent judge, of course, he must be more than an excellent lawyer. His performance in the Office of the Solicitor General gives us reason to be confident that he will successfully transition from advocate and scholar to judge. Assistants to the Solicitor General are nonpolitical career staff, hired for their legal excellence and charged with representing the United States before the Supreme Court irrespective of the administration or political party in office. The job requires attorneys to set aside their personal views, work collaboratively with others throughout the government, and advance the interests of the United States. During his service as an Assistant, Mr. Heytens consistently conducted himself in accordance with the nonpartisan and collegial traditions of the Office.

We enthusiastically support Mr. Heytens's confirmation to the Fourth Circuit.

Sincerely,

Paul D. Clement Solicitor General (2005-2008) Principal Deputy Solicitor General (2001-2004)

Gregory G. Garre Solicitor General (2008-2009) Principal Deputy Solicitor General (2005-2008) Assistant to the Solicitor General (2000-2004)

Theodore B. Olson Solicitor General (2001-2004)

Neal Kumar Katyal Acting Solicitor General (2010-2011) Principal Deputy Solicitor General (2009-2010)

Daryl Joseffer Principal Deputy Solicitor General (2008-2009) Assistant to the Solicitor General (2004-2008)

Michael R. Dreeben Deputy Solicitor General (1994-2019) Assistant to the Solicitor General (1988-1994)

Thomas G. Hungar Deputy Solicitor General (2003-2008) Assistant to the Solicitor General (1992-1994)

Lisa S. Blatt Assistant to the Solicitor General (1996-2009)

Edward C. DuMont Assistant to the Solicitor General (1992-1996, 1997-2001)

John P. Elwood Assistant to the Solicitor General (2002-2005)

James A. Feldman Assistant to the Solicitor General (1989-2006)

Irving L. Gornstein Assistant to the Solicitor General (1994-2007) Douglas H. Hallward-Driemeier

Assistant to the Solicitor General (2004-2009)

Benjamin J. Horwich

Assistant to the Solicitor General (2009-2014)

William M. Jay

Assistant to the Solicitor General (2007-2012)

Jeffrey A. Lamken

Assistant to the Solicitor General (1997-2003)

David A. O'Neil

Assistant to the Solicitor General (2008-2010)

Joseph R. Palmore

Assistant to the Solicitor General (2010-2014)

Nicole A. Saharsky

Assistant to the Solicitor General (2007-2017)

Lisa Hertzer Schertler

Assistant to the Solicitor General (2007-2009)

Pratik A. Shah

Assistant to the Solicitor General (2008-2013)

Melissa Arbus Sherry

Assistant to the Solicitor General (2009-2014)

Scott Keller

Bristow Fellow (2008-2009)

Matthew Krueger

Bristow Fellow (2007-2008)

Judson O. Littleton

Bristow Fellow (2009-2010)

Erin E. Murphy

Bristow Fellow (2007-2008)

Matthew Owen

Bristow Fellow (2009-2010)

Annie Owens

Bristow Fellow (2007-2008)

Matthew E. Price

Bristow Fellow (2007-2008)