

44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 200 | Alexandria, VA 22314, USA | 703.836.6767 or 1.800.THEIACP | www.theIACP.org

March 14, 2022

The Honorable Dick Durbin Committee on the Judiciary **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Chuck Grassley Committee on the Judiciary **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

On behalf of the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), I am pleased to inform you of our support for the nomination of Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson to be the next Associate Justice on the United States Supreme Court.

As you know, IACP is the world's largest association of law enforcement leaders, with more than 31,000 members in 168 countries. Throughout its history, the IACP has been committed to advancing the policing profession and promoting public safety. It is for this reason, that when the IACP chooses to support an individual, we do not take it lightly, and take into careful consideration their background, experience, and previous opinions issued as they relate to law enforcement and criminal justice issues.

Judge Jackson has several family members in law enforcement, and we believe this has given her a deep understanding of, and appreciation for, the challenges and complexities confronting the policing profession. During her time as a judge, she has displayed her dedication to ensuring that our communities are safe and that the interests of justice are served.

We believe that Judge Jackson's years of experience have shown she has the temperament and qualifications to serve as the next Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court. The IACP urges the Judiciary Committee, and the members of the United States Senate, to confirm Judge Jackson's nomination.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Please let me know how the IACP may be of further assistance in this vitally important process.

Sincerely,

Chief Dwight E. Henninger **IACP President**

Chief Dwight E. Henninger Vail, CO, Police Department

Immediate Past President Chief Cynthia E. Renaud (Ret.) Santa Monica, CA, Police Department

First Vice President Thomasville, GA, Police Department

Second Vice President Chief Wade Carpenter Park City, UT, Police Department Third Vice President

Chief Ken A. Walker Police Department

Fourth Vice President Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

Grand Junction, CO, Police Department

Vice President At-Large Chief Sean Duggar

Vice President At-Large Chief Kristen Ziman (Ret.)

International Vice President Emmanuel Roux Head of the International Division of the French Judicial Police

Vice President-Treasurer Chief Ronald A Sellor Mansfield, MA, Police Department

General Chair, Division of State Colonel Matthew Lange Minnesota State Patrol

General Chair, Division of State Associations of Chiefs of Police Chief James G. Hicks Natick, MA, Police Department

General Chair, Midsize Agencies Division Chief Edward Walsh

Chief Robert Champagne (Ret.)
Peabody, MA, Police Department

Executive Director / **Chief Executive Officer** Alexandria, VA

Deputy Executive Director / Chief Operating Officer Terrence M. Cunningham