Results of Executive Business Meeting – July 13, 2023

The Senate Judiciary Committee held an executive business meeting to consider pending nominations and legislation on July 13, 2023.

I. Nominees

Loren L. AliKhan, to be United States District Judge for the District of Columbia REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE
11-10

Aye: Durbin, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch

Nay: Graham, Grassley, Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley (Proxy), Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn (Proxy)

Susan K. DeClercq, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 12-9

Aye: Durbin, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch, Graham

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley (Proxy), Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn (Proxy)

Julia K. Munley, to be United States District Judge for the Middle District of Pennsylvania

HELD

Vernon D. Oliver, to be United States District Judge for the District of Connecticut REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE

13-8

Aye: Durbin, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch, Graham, Tillis

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley (Proxy), Cotton (Proxy), Kennedy, Blackburn (Proxy)

Tara K. McGrath, to be United States Attorney for the Southern District of California REPORTED: VOICE VOTE

Nay: Lee (Proxy), Cruz (Proxy), Hawley (Proxy), Kennedy, Blackburn (Proxy)

II. Bills

S. 1080, Cooper Davis Act (Marshall, Shaheen, Durbin, Grassley, Klobuchar) ORDERED FAVORABLY REPORTED IN THE NATURE OF A SUBSTITUTE: ROLL CALL VOTE

16-5

Aye: Durbin, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Blumenthal, Hirono (Proxy), Graham, Grassley, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Hawley (Proxy), Cotton, Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis (Proxy), Blackburn (Proxy)

Nay: Coons (Proxy), Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch

Managers' Amendment ELL23484

ADOPTED: VOICE VOTE

Ossoff Amendment ELL24389 as modified FAILED: ROLL CALL VOTE 8-13

Aye: Blumenthal, Hirono (Proxy), Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Welch, Graham, Hawley (Proxy)

Nay: Durbin, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons (Proxy), Grassley, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Cotton, Kennedy (Proxy), Tillis, Blackburn (Proxy)

S. 359, the Supreme Court Ethics, Transparency, and Recusal Act of 2023 (Whitehouse, Blumenthal, Booker, Feinstein, Durbin, Hirono, Welch, Padilla, Klobuchar, Coons)

HELD