The Honorable Charles E. Grassley, Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein, Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Feinstein:

We write to express our strong support for the nomination of Judge Brett M. Kavanaugh to be an Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court. Each of us is a member of the Supreme Court Bar and has had an active practice in appellate matters before that Court and throughout the country. We hold a broad range of political, policy, and jurisprudential views, but we speak as one in supporting Judge Kavanaugh's nomination.

Judge Kavanaugh has a well-deserved reputation as an outstanding jurist. His opinions are clear, rigorous, and thoughtful. Those of us who have appeared before him appreciate his impressive ability to distill complex legal issues to their essence, the incisiveness of his questions, and the unfailing courtesy he extends to his colleagues and to counsel who appear before him. Based on our experience with Judge Kavanaugh and his work over 12 years of distinguished judicial service, we are confident that he possesses the character, temperament and intellect that will make him an asset to our Nation's highest Court.

We hope this information will be of assistance to the Committee in its consideration of Judge Kavanaugh's nomination. We thank you for your time and attention, and urge you to support his confirmation.

Very truly yours,

Lisa S. Blatt Miguel A. Estrada The Honorable Charles E. Grassley The Honorable Dianne Feinstein August 27, 2018 Page 2

> J. Scott Ballenger Richard P. Bress Michael A. Carvin Paul D. Clement William S. Consovoy Thomas H. Dupree, Jr. Shay Dvoretzky H. Bartow Farr, III Jonathan S. Franklin Gregory G. Garre Jeffrey M. Harris Dan Himmelfarb Allyson N. Ho Benjamin J. Horwich William M. Jay Peter D. Keisler Michael K. Kellogg Jeffrey Lamken Christopher Landau Paul J. Larkin, Jr. Traci L. Lovitt Maureen E. Mahoney Ronald Mann Roman Martinez Deanne E. Maynard Thomas R. McCarthy Matthew D. McGill Erin E. Murphy Glen D. Nager Theodore B. Olson Aaron M. Panner Mark A. Perry Carter G. Phillips Richard H. Seamon Mark T. Stancil Kathleen M. Sullivan Amir C. Tayrani Helgi C. Walker Christopher J. Wright