August 2, 2018

The Honorable Charles Grassley, Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Dianne Feinstein, Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Feinstein:

Like Judge Brett M. Kavanaugh, we are former law clerks to Associate Justice Anthony M. Kennedy, whose decades of judicial service have been an inspiration to us all. Though our views on politics, law, and the issues that come before the Supreme Court are diverse, we have come together to express our conviction that Judge Kavanaugh would be a fair-minded and conscientious successor to Justice Kennedy.

Judge Kavanaugh is supremely qualified to serve on the Supreme Court, having served for twelve years as a member of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit. Many of us have worked with Judge Kavanaugh, observed him in court, or encountered his speeches and articles. Much like Justice Kennedy, Judge Kavanaugh has made clear that he holds both the law and the principle of judicial independence in the highest regard.

If he is confirmed as a Supreme Court justice, we believe that Judge Kavanaugh would continue to serve his country with distinction—like the Justice for whom we clerked.

Respectfully,

Bertrand-Marc Allen Patrick J. Borchers

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2003 Law clerk to Judge Kennedy, 1986-87

David L. Anderson Rachel Brand

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1991 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2002

Randy Beck Christopher L. Callahan

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1990 Law clerk to Judge Kennedy, 1984-85

James F. Bennett Adam H. Charnes

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1999 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1992

Andrew Bentz Michael Chu

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2014 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2007

Bradford A. Berenson Daniel C. Chung

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1992 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1987

Stephen Cowen Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2007 Edward C. Dawson Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2003 Grant M. Dixton Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2000 **Gregory Dubinsky** Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2013 Miles F. Ehrlich Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1993 Gregg L. Engles Law clerk to Judge Kennedy, 1982-83 Miguel A. Estrada Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1987 & 1988

Allen Ferrell Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1996

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1995

Ward Farnsworth

Nathan A. Forrester Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1993

Brett Gerry Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2000

Donald L. R. Goodson Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2017

Gillian Grossman Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2015

Nick Harper Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2017

Kathryn Haun Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2004

Michael Hirshland Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1994 Steven J. Horowitz Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2010 Timothy G. Hoxie Law clerk to Judge Kennedy, 1985-86 Thomas G. Hungar Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1988 Robert E. Johnson Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2010 Leo Katz Law clerk to Judge Kennedy, 1982-83 Peter Keisler Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1987 & 1988 Ashley Keller Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2008

Scott A. Keller Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2009

Law clerk to Judge Kennedy, 1983-84 Orin S. Kerr Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2003

J. Clark Kelso

Matthew H. Lembke

Kelly M. Klaus, Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1995

Randy J. Kozel Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2005

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1992 Travis Lenkner

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2008

Renée Lettow Lerner J.C. Rozendaal Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1996 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1998 Katherine Moran Meeks Nicholas Quinn Rosenkranz Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2013 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2001 Daniel Meron Eric H. Schunk Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1994 Law clerk to Judge Kennedy, 1981-82 Kevin J. Miller, Michael E. Scoville Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2000 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2004 Milton A. Miller Steven M. Shepard Law clerk to Judge Kennedy, 1979-80 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2008 John Neiman Igor V. Timofeyev Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2002 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2001 Steve Nickelsburg Misha Tseytlin Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1999 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2009 Christopher R.J. Pace Caroline Van Zile Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1992 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2014 Eugene M. Paige Christopher J. Walker Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2000 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2008 Joshua Patashnik Justin Walker Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2012 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2011 R. Hewitt Pate Lauren Willard Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1989 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2012 Krista Perry Richard Willard Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2017 Law clerk to Judge Kennedy, 1975-76 Jeffrey Pojanowski Michael F. Williams Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2005 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2002 Richard M. Re Alexander J. Willscher Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2010 Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2001 C. Harker Rhodes IV Christopher S. Yoo

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 1997

Law clerk to Justice Kennedy, OT 2015