TOP SECRET//NOFORM (UNCLASSIFIED when separated from attachment)

CHARLES'E GRASSLEY, OWA, CHARMAN

ORRIN G. HATCH, UTAH
UNDSEY O. GRAHAM, SOUTH CAROLINA
JOHN CORNYN, TEXAS
MICHAELS LEE, UTAH
DIANNO G. HATCH, LLINOIS
SHELDON WHITEHOUSE, RHOOL ISLAND UNUSEY O GRAPAM SOUTH CAROCINA
JOHN CORNYN TEXAS
MICHAEL S. LEE. UTAH
TED CRUZ. TEXAS
BEN SASSE REBRASKA
JEFF FLAKE, ARIZONA MIKE CRAPO IDAHO THOM TILLIS, NORTH CAROLINA JOHN KENNEDY, LOUISIANA

AMY KLOBUCHAR, MINNESOTA AL FRANKEN MINNESOTA CHRISTOPHER A. COONS, DELAWARE RICHARD BLUMENTHAL, CONNECTICUT MAZIE K. HIRONO, HAWAS.

United States Senate

COMMITTEE ON THE JUDICIARY WASHINGTON, DC 20510-6275

KOLAN L. DAVIS, Chief Counsel and Staff Director JENNISEN DUCK. Democratic Staff Director

January 4, 2018

VIA ELECTRONIC TRANSMISSION

The Honorable Rod J. Rosenstein Deputy Attorney General U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20530

The Honorable Christopher A. Wray Director Federal Bureau of Investigation 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20535

Dear Deputy Attorney General Rosenstein and Director Wray:

Attached please find a classified memorandum related to certain communications between Christopher Steele and multiple U.S. news outlets regarding the so-called "Trump dossier" that Mr. Steele compiled on behalf of Fusion GPS for the Clinton Campaign and the Democratic National Committee and also provided to the FBI.

Based on the information contained therein, we are respectfully referring Mr. Steele to you for investigation of potential violations of 18 U.S.C. § 1001, for statements the Committee has reason to believe Mr. Steele made regarding his distribution of information contained in the dossier.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this important matter. If you have any questions, please contact Patrick Davis or DeLisa Lay of Chairman Grassley's staff at (202) 224-5225.

Sincerely,

Chairman

Committee on the Judiciary

Chairman

Subcommittee on Crime and Terrorism

Committee on the Judiciary

Enclosure: As stated.

TOP SECRET//NOFORN (UNCLASSIFIED when separated from attachment) cc: The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary

> The Honorable Richard Burr Chairman Senate Select Committee on Intelligence

> The Honorable Mark Warner Vice Chairman Senate Select Committee on Intelligence

The Honorable Devin Nunes Chairman House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence

The Honorable Adam Schiff Ranking Member House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence