

44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 200 | Alexandria, VA 22314, USA | 703.836.6767 or 1.800.THEIACP | www.theIACP.org

February 3, 2020

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Majority Leader **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chairman Committee on the Judiciary **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

On behalf of the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), I am pleased to offer our support for the nominations of Ms. Lisa Monaco to serve as the Deputy Attorney General of the United States Department of Justice and Ms. Vanita Gupta to serve as the Associate Attorney General of the United States Department of Justice.

The IACP recently had the opportunity to meet with Ms. Monaco and Ms. Gupta to gain a better understanding of their upcoming priorities and their approach to working with state and local law enforcement agencies. During this meeting, Ms. Monaco and Ms. Gupta clearly demonstrated their deep understanding of, and continued support for, the policing profession. They stressed the importance of the partnership between the Department of Justice and state and local law enforcement and emphasized their commitment to working closely with critical stakeholders in the policy development process.

Ms. Monaco and Ms. Gupta also underscored their belief that, given the complex nature of the challenges facing policing and public safety, the Department of Justice should adopt a flexible approach that will allow for the development of an array of solutions that will better meet the unique needs of each community. Finally, both Ms. Monaco and Ms. Gupta reaffirmed the importance of drawing upon previously completed good work on policing, regardless of origin.

The IACP strongly believes that Attorney General nominee, Judge Merrick Garland, Ms. Monaco, and Ms. Gupta will work well together, capitalizing on each other's backgrounds and the different strengths and perspectives they will bring the U.S. Department of Justice.

President Santa Monica, CA, Police Department

**Immediate Past President** Chief Steven R. Casstevens Buffalo Grove, IL, Police Department

First Vice President Chief Dwight E. Henninger Vail. CO. Police Department

Second Vice President Chief John Letteney

Third Vice President **Chief Wade Carpente** Park City, UT, Police Department

**Fourth Vice President** Chief Ken A. Walker West University Place, TX, Police Department

**Fifth Vice President** Director David B. Rausch Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

Vice President At-Large Chief Will Johnson BNSF Railway Police Department Vice President At-Large Chief Kristen Zimar Aurora, IL, Police Department

**International Vice President** Special Agent in Charge Ray Villanueva Homeland Security Investigations

Vice President-Treasurer Chief Ronald A Sello Mansfield, MA. Police Department

General Chair. Division of State and **Provincial Police** Colonel Matthew Langer

General Chair, Division of State Associations of Chiefs of Police Chief James G. Hicks Natick, MA, Police Department

General Chair, Midsize Agencies Division Chief Edward Walsh Taunton, MA, Police Department

Parliamentarian Deputy Commissioner Max Santiago (Ret.)

Executive Director / **Chief Executive Officer** Vincent Talucci, CAE Alexandria, VA

Deputy Executive Director / **Chief Operating Officer** Terrence M. Cunningham Alexandria, VA

California Highway Patrol

The IACP urges the Judiciary Committee and the members of the United States Senate to swiftly confirm the nomination of Ms. Monaco and Ms. Gupta.

Sincerely,

lysthe Renaud

Chief Cynthia Renaud (Ret.) IACP President