

44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 200 | Alexandria, VA 22314, USA | 703.836.6767 or 1.800.THEIACP | www.theIACP.org

February 22, 2021

Kristen Clarke President and Executive Director Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law 1500 K Street NW, Suite 900 Washington, DC 20005

Dear Ms. Clarke:

I want to congratulate you on your nomination for Assistant Attorney General for the Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division by President Biden.

While the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) has peripheral engagement with the Civil Rights Division, my experience suggests that successful candidates selected to lead the Division are communicative, fair, and transparent. Given our direct working relationship in our respective roles, you have demonstrated those qualities in our collective Lawyers' Committee and IACP efforts. Our partnership personifies the impact the policing and civil rights communities can have when working together to address complex issues -- as our joint efforts have spanned from addressing challenges within a local police organization to building a national effort to enhance the response to hate crimes.

I wish you well in the confirmation process and offer my appreciation for your willingness to serve. If confirmed, I look forward to continuing our solid working relationship as you bring your professional hallmarks -- communicativeness, fairness, and championing of transparency – to your new role.

Sincerely,

Vincent Talucci IACP Executive Director / Chief Executive Officer

President Chief Cynthia E. Renaud (Ret.) Santa Monica, CA, Police Department

Immediate Past President Chief Steven R. Casstevens Buffalo Grove, IL, Police Department

First Vice President Chief Dwight E. Henninger Vail, CO, Police Department

Second Vice President Chief John Letteney Thomasville, GA, Police Department Third Vice President Chief Wade Carpenter Park City, UT, Police Department

Fourth Vice President Chief Ken A. Walker West University Place, TX, Police Department

Fifth Vice President Director David B. Rausch Tennessee Bureau of Investigation

Vice President At-Large Chief Will Johnson BNSF Railway Police Department Vice President At-Large Chief Kristen Ziman Aurora, IL, Police Department

International Vice President Special Agent in Charge Ray Villanueva Homeland Security Investigations

Vice President-Treasurer Chief Ronald A. Sellon Mansfield, MA, Police Department

General Chair, Division of State and Provincial Police Colonel Matthew Langer Minnesota State Patrol General Chair, Division of State Associations of Chiefs of Police Chief James G. Hicks Natick, MA, Police Department

General Chair, Midsize Agencies Division Chief Edward Walsh Taunton, MA, Police Department

Parliamentarian Deputy Commissioner Max Santiago (Ret.) California Highway Patrol

Executive Director / Chief Executive Officer Vincent Talucci, CAE Alexandria, VA

Deputy Executive Director / Chief Operating Officer Terrence M. Cunningham Alexandria, VA