March 20, 2023

The Honorable Dick Durbin Chair Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Lindsey Graham Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 152 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of Molly Silfen to the U.S. Court of Federal Claims

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Graham:

We write to express our enthusiastic support for the nomination, and confirmation, of Molly Silfen to the United States Court of Federal Claims. We are all former law clerks at the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and we overlapped with Ms. Silfen during her clerkship from 2008-2010. We come from across the political spectrum and, since clerking, have worked in academia, private companies, law firms, and around the government.

As a clerk, Ms. Silfen consistently mastered the facts and issues in the cases that she handled. She assisted the Court with diligent research and provided thoughtful insights into the decision-making process of each case. In preparation for a case, she was even-handed in her approach, asking probing questions of fellow clerks that were designed to illuminate the legal issues on both sides. Her ultimate goal in every case was to determine the correct outcome under the law and advise the court accordingly. In doing so, Ms. Silfen always demonstrated an unbiased and impartial demeanor. Since clerking, some of us have been opposing counsel opposite Ms. Silfen and we found her to be an exceedingly intelligent, hard-working, judicious, and fair-minded attorney.

Ms. Silfen's thoughtfulness, intellect, and work ethic—among other qualities—will make her an excellent addition to the United States Court of Federal Claims. We are proud to recommend that the Committee confirm Ms. Silfen's nomination to the United States Court of Federal Claims. We are confident that she will serve the Court honorably and represent the Judiciary with distinction.

Respectfully submitted,

*References to law firms, corporations, or other institutions are for identification purposes only and do not constitute endorsements by those entities.

Jonas Anderson Ifti Ahmed

University of Utah, SJQ College of Law Law Clerk for Judge Lourie, '09-'11

Erica Andersen Garth Baer

Partner, Covington & Burling LLP

Administrative Patent Judge
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office

Andrew S. Baluch Kerry Begley

Smith Baluch LLP Law Clerk for Judge Prost '10-'11

Jennifer Suzanne Bresson Bisk Mel Bostwick

Law Clerk for Hon. Richard Linn, '09-'11 Orrick

Kirk T. Bradley Carolyn Jacobs Chachkin

Alston & Bird LLP Law Clerk for Judge Bryson, '09-'10

Bryan H. Choi Rachel L. Weiner Cohen

The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law Clerk for Judge Prost, '09-'10

Law

Sarah E. Craven Nathan Davis

Law Clerk for Judge Lourie '09-'11 Director, Patents & Intellectual Property

Litigation, Whirlpool Corporation

Juliet Mitchell Dirba Julie Dohm

Administrative Patent Judge Of Counsel, Covington & Burling LLP

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office

Gregory Dolin Matthew J. Dowd
University of Baltimore School of Law Dowd Scheffel PLLC

Adam Eltoukhy R. Jason Fowler

Partner, Covington & Burling LLP

Aaron Fountain Christopher Funk

Partner, Morrison & Foerster LLP Partner, Keller Preece PLLC

Maximilienne Giannelli Michael Goodman

Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett &

Dunner LLP

Adam Greenfield Jeffrey T. Han

Latham & Watkins LLP Vinson & Elkins LLP

Neal Hannan Seth Heller

Databricks, Inc. Associate Chief Counsel

United States Food and Drug Administration

J High Jared Hoggan

Law Clerk for Judge Michel, '08-'09 Munck Wilson Mandala LLP

Henry Huang Emily Johnson

White & Case LLP Head of IP Policy & Advocacy

Amgen Inc.

Miranda Jones Sheila Kadura, Ph.D

Partner, Porter Hedges LLP

Kristina Caggiano Kelly Lisa Kennedy

Director, Sterne Kessler Goldstein Fox PLLC Career Law Clerk to Hon. H. Robert Mayer

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Allison E. Kerndt Adam Keser

Shareholder, Nyemaster Goode, PC Chief Intellectual Property Counsel

Saint-Gobain Corp.

Omar A. Khan Elizabeth A. Laughton Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP Smith Baluch LLP

Law Clerk to Hon. Timothy B. Dyk '09-'10

Brenda E. Lee Richard Marsh

Wilmer, Cutler, Pickering, Hale & Dorr LLP

Linzy McCartney Christina McCullough

Perkins Coie, LLP

Andrew Michaels Christopher Nalevanko

University of Houston Law Center

Jennifer Librach Nall Joss Nichols

Partner, DLA Piper LLP (US)

Eric Ow Ajeet Pai

Kevin Parton Alex Pergament

Career Law Clerk to Judge Richard Linn US Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Lynne E. Pettigrew William B. Raich, Ph.D.

Patent Trial and Appeal Board Partner, Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow,

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Garrett & Dunner, LLP

Sarah R. Wasserman Rajec, Farheena Rasheed

William & Mary Law School Law Clerk for Judge Gajarsa, 2009-2010

Jennifer Robinson Stuart M. Rosenberg

ServiceNow, Inc. Partner, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Anu Sawkar Special Counsel for Intellectual Property Federal Trade Commission

Shari Diener Shaw Senior Assistant General Counsel The Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine, Inc

Ranganath Sudarshan Partner, Covington & Burling LLP

Michael C. Tyler

Paul M. Schoenhard Partner, Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP

Jeffrey Stephens Stephens IP Law, PLLC

Louis Tompros Partner, WilmerHale Lecturer on Law, Harvard Law School Law Clerk to Judge Linn, '08-'09