

THE UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF MAYORS

1620 EYE STREET NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006 TELEPHONE (202) 293-7330 FAX (202) 293-2352 URL: www.usmayors.org

MITCHELL J. LANDRIEU

Vice President: STEPHEN K. BENJAMIN Mayor of Columbia, SC

Second Vice President BRYAN K. BARNETT Mayor of Rochester Hills

Past Presidents: MICK CORNETT Mayor of Oklahoma City ELIZABETH B. KAUTZ Mayor of Burnsville

Trustees: STEVE ADLER Mayor of Austin SHANE T. BEMIS Mayor of Gresham J. CHRISTIAN BOLLWAGE

J. CHRISTIAN BOLLWAGE
Mayor of Elizabeth
JAMES BRAINARD
Mayor of Carmel, IN
JOY COOPER
Mayor of Hallandale Beach
FRANK COWNIE
Mayor of Des Moines, IA

BILL de BLASIO

Mayor of New York Mayor of New York GREG FISCHER Mayor of Louisville JOHN GILES Mayor of Mesa KIM McMILLAN

Mayor of Clarksville MIKE RAWLINGS MIKE RAWLINGS
Mayor of Dallas
JAMES J. SCHMITT
Mayor of Green Bay
NAN WHALEY
Mayor of Dayton

Advisory Board: JUAN CARLOS BERMUDEZ

MURIEL BOWSER MURIEL BOWSER
Mayor of the District of Columbia
ARDELL F. BREDE
Mayor of Rochester, MN
ROY BUOL
Mayor of Dubuque
PETE BUTTIGEG
Mayor of South Band

Mayor of South Bend CHRISTOPHER L. CABALDON Mayor of West Sacramento BUDDY DYER

Mayor of Orlando JORGE O. ELORZA Mayor of Providence KAREN FREEMAN-WILSON

Mayor of Gary JOSEPH P. GANIM

JOSEPH P. GANIM
Mayor of Bridgeport
OLIVER C. GILBERT, III
Mayor of Miami Gardens
CAROLYN G. GOODMAN
Mayor of Las Vegas
SYLVESTER "SLY" JAMES, JR.
Mayor of Kansas City, MO
HARRY LAROSILIERE
Mayor of Williams
Mayor of Man

Mayor of Plano JOSEPH T. McELVEEN, JR. JOSEPH T. McELVEEN, JR.
Mayor of Sumter
LYDIA L. MIHALIK
Mayor of Findlay
JON MITCHELL
Mayor of New Bedford
KENNETH D. MIYAGISHIMA
Mayor of Las Cruces

Mayor of Las Cruces FRANK C. ORTIS Mayor of Pembroke Pines ED PAWLOWSKI Mayor of Allentown MIGUEL A. PULIDO

Mayor of Santa Ana MADELINE ROGERO

Mayor of Knoxville PAUL SOGLIN

Mayor of Madison, WI MARK STODOLA Mayor of Little Rock SYLVESTER TURNER

Mayor of Houston BRIAN C. WAHLER Mayor of Piscatawa MARTIN I. WALSH

Mayor of Boston ACQUANETTA WARREN Mayor of Fontana

CEO and Executive Director TOM COCHRAN

February 12, 2018

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Chairman Committee on the Judiciary **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Feinstein:

I write to register the strong support of the nation's mayors for the Sentencing Reform and Corrections Act (S. 1917), bipartisan legislation that would bring needed reforms to the criminal justice system. We urge the Committee to report it out when it considers it next week and the full Senate to act upon it quickly.

S. 1917 would address decades of serious inequities in federal sentencing for certain drug offenders, target violent criminals, and grant judges greater discretion at sentencing for lower-level drug crimes. It would clarify and reduce the enhanced mandatory minimum sentence for certain firearm offenses and apply the Fair Sentencing Act of 2010 retroactively. The bill also contains provisions intended to reduce recidivism by helping federal prisoners successfully re-enter society – provisions that we believe are essential to meaningful justice reform. Finally, it would establish a national criminal justice commission, something which is long overdue.

The U.S. Conference of Mayors is a bipartisan organization and we are especially pleased to be urging support of bipartisan legislation that addresses a critical problem in this country. This sorely needed legislation has broad support and is important to our cities, our residents, and our nation. We are committed to seeing such criminal justice reform legislation enacted into law as early as possible this year.

Sincerely,

om cochran

Tom Cochran CEO and Executive Director