

June 10, 2013

The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy, Chairman, Judiciary Committee The Honorable Charles E. Grassley, Ranking Minority Member United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of the Honorable B. Todd Jones as the Director of Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Dear Senators Leahy and Grassley:

The undersigned Presidentially Appointed United States Attorneys ("U.S. Attorneys") of the Department of Justice write to strongly support the confirmation of B. Todd Jones as Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives ("ATF").

In our roles as U.S. Attorneys, we are the chief federal law enforcement officials of our various Districts. As such, our responsibilities require enforcement of federal laws, assistance to our state and local partners in their law enforcement efforts, and implementation of policies of the Department of Justice. We are responsible for developing the strategies that will meet the needs of our Districts, including gun prosecution strategies and strategies for reducing violent crime in our communities. All of us are acutely aware of the urgent need for permanent leadership at ATF, and we believe that B. Todd Jones is highly qualified to lead the men and women of the agency.

During his tenure as Acting Director, Mr. Jones has made remarkable strides in refocusing the efforts of the ATF. He has been fully engaged, immersed himself in all aspects of the agency, and used his experience as a federal prosecutor to maximize the efforts of ATF's daily operations.

In addition to working with Mr. Jones in his role as Acting Director of ATF, we also have vast experience working with him in his roles as United States Attorney for the District of Minnesota and Chair of the Attorney General's Advisory Committee ("AGAC") of U.S. Attorneys. Mr. Jones was an effective Chair of the AGAC and was a strong voice for our community within the Department of Justice. This was to be expected as, throughout his tenure as U.S. Attorney for Minnesota, Mr. Jones has been a true leader within the broader United States

Attorney community. In fact, for many of us, not only has Mr. Jones been a respected colleague, he has also been a mentor.

Mr. Jones's commitment to federal law enforcement and the communities of our nation has been a priority throughout his life and career. He is a former Marine, Assistant U.S. Attorney, and twice appointed U.S. Attorney; the United States could not find an individual who is better suited or more qualified to lead this agency which is so vital to assisting U.S. Attorneys' Offices in carrying out our law enforcement duties.

We respectfully recommend that the Senate Judiciary Committee support the nomination of Mr. Jones to serve as the next Director of ATF. He is highly qualified for the position, has an unimpeachable reputation among his colleagues, and is committed to the citizens of this nation. Mr. Jones will effectively and efficiently lead the men and women of the ATF and ensure that the mission of reducing gun violence in our communities is a priority.

Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

Sincerely,

/s/

JOYCE WHITE VANCE	BENJAMIN B. WAGNER	WIFREDO A. FERRER
ALABAMA, NORTHERN	CALIFORNIA, EASTERN	FLORIDA, SOUTHERN
KENYEN RAY BROWN	MELINDA L. HAAG	MICHAEL J. MOORE
ALABAMA, SOUTHERN	CALIFORNIA, NORTHERN	GEORGIA, MIDDLE
KAREN L. LOEFFLER	LAURA E. DUFFY	SALLY QUILLIAN YATES
ALASKA	CALIFORNIA, SOUTHERN	GEORGIA, NORTHERN
JOHN S. LEONARDO	JOHN F. WALSH	EDWARD J. TARVER
ARIZONA	COLORADO	GEORGIA, SOUTHERN
CHRISTOPHER R. THYER	CHARLES M. OBERLY	ALICIA A.G. LIMTIACO
ARKANSAS, EASTERN	DELAWARE	GUAM
CONNER ELDRIDGE	RONALD C. MACHEN	FLORENCE T. NAKAKUNI
ARKANSAS, WESTERN	DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA	HAWAII
ANDRÉ BIROTTE, JR.	PAMELA C. MARSH	WENDY J. OLSON
CALIFORNIA, CENTRAL	FLORIDA, NORTHERN	IDAHO

JAMES A. LEWIS ILLINOIS, CENTRAL

STEPHEN R. WIGGINTON ILLINOIS, SOUTHERN

DAVID A. CAPP INDIANA, NORTHERN

JOSEPH H. HOGSETT INDIANA, SOUTHERN

NICHOLAS A. KLINEFELDT IOWA, SOUTHERN

BARRY R. GRISSOM KANSAS

KERRY B. HARVEY KENTUCKY, EASTERN

DONALD J. CAZAYOUX, JR LOUISIANA, MIDDLE

STEPHANIE A. FINLEY LOUISIANA, WESTERN

THOMAS E. DELAHANTY, II MAINE

ROD J. ROSENSTEIN MARYLAND

CARMEN MILAGROS ORTIZ MASSACHUSETTS

BARBARA L. MCQUADE MICHIGAN, EASTERN PATRICK A. MILES, JR. MICHIGAN, WESTERN

FELICIA ADAMS MISSISSIPPI, NORTHERN

GREGORY K. DAVIS MISSISSIPPI, SOUTHERN

RICHARD G. CALLAHAN MISSOURI, EASTERN

TAMMY DICKINSON MISSOURI, WESTERN

> MICHAEL COTTER MONTANA

DEBORAH K.R. GILG NEBRASKA

DANIEL G. BOGDEN NEVADA

JOHN P. KACAVAS NEW HAMPSHIRE

TY, II PAUL J. FISHMAN NEW JERSEY

> LORETTA E. LYNCH NEW YORK, EASTERN

TIZ RICHARD S. HARTUNIAN NEW YORK, NORTHERN

> PREET BHARARA NEW YORK, SOUTHERN

WILLIAM J. HOCHUL, JR NEW YORK, WESTERN

ANNE TOMPKINS NORTH CAROLINA, WESTERN

THOMAS G. WALKER NORTH CAROLINA, EASTERN

RIPLEY RAND NORTH CAROLINA, MIDDLE

TIMOTHY Q. PURDON NORTH DAKOTA

STEVEN M. DETTELBACH OHIO, NORTHERN

CARTER M. STEWART OHIO, SOUTHERN

MARK F. GREEN OKLAHOMA, EASTERN

DANNY WILLIAMS OKLAHOMA, NORTHERN

S. AMANDA MARSHALL OREGON

ZANE D. MEMEGER PENNSYLVANIA, EASTERN

PETER J. SMITH PENNSYLVANIA, MIDDLE

DAVID J. HICKTON PENNSYLVANIA, WESTERN PETER F. NERONHA RHODE ISLAND

WILLIAM N. NETTLES SOUTH CAROLINA

BRENDAN V. JOHNSON SOUTH DAKOTA

WILLIAM C. KILLIAN TENNESSEE, EASTERN

EDWARD L. STANTON, III TENNESSEE, WESTERN

JOHN MALCOLM BALES TEXAS, EASTERN

SARAH R. SALDAÑA TEXAS, NORTHERN

KENNETH MAGIDSON TEXAS, SOUTHERN

ROBERT L. PITMAN TEXAS, WESTERN

DAVID BARLOW UTAH

TRISTRAM J. COFFIN VERMONT

RONALD W. SHARPE VIRGIN ISLANDS

NEIL H. MACBRIDE VIRGINIA, EASTERN TIMOTHY J. HEAPHY VIRGINIA, WESTERN

MICHAEL ORMSBY WASHINGTON, EASTERN

JENNY A. DURKAN WASHINGTON, WESTERN

WILLIAM J. IHLENFELD, II WEST VIRGINIA, NORTHERN

R. BOOTH GOODWIN, II WEST VIRGINIA, SOUTHERN

JAMES SANTELLE WISCONSIN, EASTERN

JOHN WILLIAM VAUDREUIL WISCONSIN, WESTERN

CHRISTOPHER A. CROFTS WYOMING