The Honorable Charles E. Grassley, Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Dick Durbin, Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 711 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of Eric Tung as Circuit Judge,

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Durbin:

We write in strong support of Eric Tung's confirmation for a seat on the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

All of us worked alongside Eric at the United States Supreme Court during the October 2012 Term. While clerking, we observed Eric's meticulous legal skills, his diligence, and his exceptional character. Eric's achievements since then, in both private practice and government service, are extensive, but not unexpected. He displayed the same talents and integrity during our year together that have led to his professional success.

We are a diverse group with differing views on politics, law, and the myriad issues that come before the Ninth Circuit. And as clerks at the Supreme Court, we worked on—and disagreed over—some of the most contentious legal issues facing our country. Despite those differences, we share a common respect for Eric and confidence in his abilities. It is our view that, if confirmed, Eric would bring the same skills and temperament to the bench, treating colleagues and counsel alike with humility and respect. We support Eric's speedy confirmation without reservation.

Respectfully submitted,

Kwaku A. Akowuah Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2012)

Brian W. Barnes Law Clerk to Justice Alito (OT 2012) Samantha Bateman

Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2012)

Eduardo F. Bruera

Law Clerk to Justice Stevens (OT 2012)

Brian Burgess

Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2012)

Martine Cicconi

Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2012)

Eric F. Citron

Law Clerk to Justice O'Connor (OT 2012)

Robert Dunn

Law Clerk to Justice Thomas (OT 2012)

Jonathan Y. Ellis

Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2012)

Janet Galeria

Law Clerk to Justice Thomas (OT 2012)

E. Rebecca Gantt

Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2012)

Scott Grinsell

Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2012)

Joshua Johnson

Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2012)

Emily J. Kennedy

Law Clerk to Justice Alito (OT 2012)

Sina Kian

Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2012)

Adam Klein

Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2012)

Caroline Edsall Littleton

Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2012)

David Morrell

Law Clerk to Justice Thomas (OT 2012)

Josh Patashnik

Law Clerk to Justice Kennedy (OT 2012)

Thane Rehn

Law Clerk to Justice Ginsburg (OT 2012)

Ian Samuel

Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2012)

Danielle Sassoon

Law Clerk to Justice Scalia (OT 2012)

Zachary C. Schauf

Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2012)

Benjamin Snyder

Law Clerk to Chief Justice Roberts (OT 2012)

Mark D. Taticchi

Law Clerk to Justice Kennedy (OT 2012)

Charlotte H. Taylor

Law Clerk to Justice Sotomayor (OT 2012)

Anthony Vitarelli

Law Clerk to Justice Souter (OT 2012)

Ryan J. Watson

Law Clerk to Justice Alito (OT 2012)

Susannah Weaver

Law Clerk to Justice Breyer (OT 2012)

David Zimmer

Law Clerk to Justice Kagan (OT 2012)

*Other clerks wished to sign but were prevented from doing so by codes of ethics or other constraints imposed by th	point two sount
employment.	eir preseni