Results of Executive Business Meeting – December 2, 2021

The Senate Judiciary Committee held an executive business meeting to consider pending nominations and legislation on December 2, 2021.

Agenda

I. Nominees

Holly A. Thomas, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Ninth Circuit

TIE VOTE ON MOTION TO FAVORABLY REPORT OUT OF COMMITTEE: ROLL CALL VOTE 11-11

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff

Nay: Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn

Gabriel P. Sanchez, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Ninth Circuit REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE

12-10

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham (Proxy)

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn

Mary Katherine Dimke, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Washington

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE

16-6

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn, Kennedy, Tillis)
Nay: Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Blackburn

Maame Ewusi-Mensah Frimpong, to be United States District Judge for the Central District of California

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE

12-10

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham (Proxy)

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn

Charlotte N. Sweeney, to be United States District Judge for the District of Colorado

TIE VOTE ON MOTION TO FAVORABLY **REPORT OUT OF COMMITTEE: ROLL CALL VOTE** 11-11

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff Nay: Grassley, Graham (Proxy), Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley,

Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn

Jennifer L. Thurston, to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of

California

REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 13-9

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham (Proxy), Tillis Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Blackburn

Hernan D. Vera, to be United States District Judge for the Central District of California TIE VOTE ON MOTION TO FAVORABLY **REPORT OUT OF COMMITTEE: ROLL CALL VOTE**

11-11

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff

Nay: Grassley, Graham, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn

Samantha D. Elliott, to be United States District Judge for the District of New

Hampshire REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 15-7

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Grassley, Graham, Cornyn, Tillis Nay: Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Blackburn

Linda Lopez, to be United States District Judge for the Southern District of California **REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE**

12-10

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn

Katherine Marie Menendez, to be United States District Judge for the District of

Minnesota REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE 15-7

 Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Grassley, Graham, Kennedy, Tillis
Nay: Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Blackburn

Jinsook Ohta, to be United States District Judge for the Southern District of California REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE

12-10

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham

Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn

David Herrera Urias, to be United States District Judge for the District of New Mexico REPORTED: ROLL CALL VOTE

12-10

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham Nay: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz (Proxy), Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis, Blackburn

Gregory K. Harris, to be United States Attorney for the Central District of Illinois REPORTED: VOICE VOTE Nay: Lee, Cruz, Hawley, Blackburn

Philip R. Sellinger, to be United States Attorney for the District of New Jersey REPORTED: VOICE VOTE Nay: Cruz, Hawley, Blackburn

Brandon B. Brown, to be United States Attorney for the Western District of Louisiana REPORTED: VOICE VOTE Ronald C. Gathe, Jr., to be United States Attorney for the Middle District of Louisiana REPORTED: VOICE VOTE

II. Bills

S. 2340, Daniel Anderl Judicial Security and Privacy Act of 2021 (Menendez, Booker, Graham, Durbin, Kennedy, Feinstein, Leahy, Klobuchar,Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Padilla, Grassley, Cruz)

ORDERED REPORTED IN THE NATURE OF A SUBSTITUTE: ROLL CALL VOTE

21-0-1

Aye: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Grassley, Graham, Cornyn, Lee, Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Kennedy, Tillis (Proxy), Blackburn(Proxy)

Present: Ossoff

Manager's Amendment SIL21C97 ADOPTED: VOICE VOTE

ALB21I46 FAILED: ROLL CALL VOTE 9-13

Aye: Grassley, Cornyn, Lee (Proxy), Cruz, Sasse (Proxy), Hawley, Cotton, Tillis, Blackburn (Proxy)

Nay: Durbin, Leahy, Feinstein, Whitehouse, Klobuchar, Coons, Blumenthal, Hirono, Booker, Padilla, Ossoff, Graham, Kennedy

S. 2614, Open Courts Act of 2021 (Portman, Wyden, Durbin, Hawley) HELD