114TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION S. RES.

Designating the week of May 10 through May 16, 2015, as "National Police Week".

IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

Mr. GRASSLEY (for himself, Mr. LEAHY, Mr. SESSIONS, Mr. COONS, Ms. MURKOWSKI, MS. HEITKAMP, MS. AYOTTE, Mr. DONNELLY, Mr. BLUNT, Mr. SCHUMER, Mr. HATCH, Mrs. GILLIBRAND, Mr. ROUNDS, Mr. MENENDEZ, Mr. ALEXANDER, MS. WARREN, Mr. COTTON, Mr. BROWN, Mr. TILLIS, Mr. FRANKEN, Mr. THUNE, Mrs. MCCASKILL, Mr. SCOTT, Mr. KAINE, Mr. INHOFE, Mr. WARNER, Mr. RUBIO, MS. KLOBUCHAR, Mr. TOOMEY, Mr. DURBIN, Mr. WICKER, Mrs. FEINSTEIN, Mr. TESTER, and Mr. PETERS) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on _______

RESOLUTION

Designating the week of May 10 through May 16, 2015, as "National Police Week".

- Whereas, in 1962, John Fitzgerald Kennedy signed the Joint Resolution entitled "Joint Resolution to authorize the President to proclaim May 15 of each year as Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week of each year during which such May 15 occurs as Police Week" (36 U.S.C. 136);
- Whereas law enforcement officers are charged with pursuing justice and protecting communities in the United States;

- Whereas Federal, State, local, and tribal police officers, sheriffs, and other law enforcement officers across the United States serve with dignity and integrity;
- Whereas, in 2015, on the 20th anniversary of the Oklahoma City Murrah Federal Building bombing, the Senate honors the memory of those who perished in the bombing and the role of law enforcement officers as both first responders to terrorist attacks and protectors of the homeland from foreign and domestic threats;
- Whereas law enforcement officers selflessly serve their communities even at the risk of their own personal safety, including the abhorrent murders of New York Police Department Officers Rafael Ramos and Wenjian Liu;
- Whereas Peace Officers Memorial Day honors all law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty;
- Whereas Peace Officers Memorial Day, 2015, honors 127 law enforcement officers recently killed in the line of duty, including David T. Johnson, Terry B. Fisher, Clinton Jeffrey Holtz, Carlos A. Rivera-Vega, Thomas A. Smith, Jr., Kristian D. Willhight, Brian D. Beck, David M. Baldwin, Eddie Maurice Hamer, Carlos Papillion, Jr., Cory B. Wride, Percy Lee House III, Jonathan Scott Pine, Amanda B. Baker, Brian M. Law, Juan Jaime Gonzalez, John T. Hobbs, Nicholas Choung Lee, Derek Andrew Hansen, Joaquin Correa-Ortega, Jason M. Crisp, Marc Uland Kelley, Allen Ray Richardson, James P. Morrissy, Ricky Del Fiorentino, Robert G. German, Mark A. Mayo, Mark H. Larson, Alexander E. Thalmann, David W. Smith, Jr., Gregory T. Maloney, Ernest T. Franklin, Dennis Guerra, Christopher A. Cortijo, Douglas H. Mayville, Mareli A. Morales-Santiago, Dennis Oliver Simmonds, Michael J. Seversen, William Heath Kelley,

3

Bryan Marshall Berger, Gabriel Rich, Patrick Scott Johnson, Roberto Carlos Sanchez, Chelsea Richard, Noel Lee Hawk, John Collum, Michael Alexander Petrina, Dinwiddie, Stephen Arkell, Charles Steven LaCruz Thomas, Chad Charles, Jair A. Cabrera, Alexander Giannini, Christopher Skinner, Frank McKnight, Brian W. Jones, Paul A. Buckles, Kevin Dorian Jordan, Daryl Giles, Igor Soldo, Alyn R. Beck, Scott M. Hewell, Lee Dixon, Allen Bares, Jr., Jacob Daniel Calvin, Perry W. Jeffrey Brady Westerfield, Frank Renn. Gregory Bordonaro, Melvin Santiago, Christopher M. Goodell, Scott Patrick, Mark A. Hecker, Patrick Libertone, Joseph James Dunn I, Michael Pimentel, Geniel Amaro-Fantauzzi, Cleveland Johnson, Jr., Paul Ferrara, Daryl R. Pierson, Nickolaus E. Schultz, Jason E. Harwood, Joseph J. Matuskovic, Tyler R. Robledo, Byron Keith Dickson II, Michael Norris, Reinaldo Arocha, Jr., Jessica Laura Hollis, Michael C. Williams, Jordan J. Corder, David Kedra, Michael Joe Naylor, Eddie Johnson, Jr., Danny Oliver, Michael David Davis, Jr., Kagan Dindar, John Timothy Williamson, Anthony Haase, Robert Jeffrey W. Garrett. Yevhen Blajszczak. Eugene Kostiuchenko, Jesse Valdez III, Shaun Richard Diamond, David Payne, Robert Parker White, Matthew Chism, Darrell Perritt, Holmes Nathaniel Smith, Jr., Ronald A. Leisure, Justin Winebrenner, Jeffrey Wayne Greene, Alejandro Martinez, Sr., Christopher Smith, James Hart, Edwin O. Roman-Acevedo, Ernest J. Montoya, Sr., Grant William Whitaker, Richard Anthony Champion, John Robert Street, Rafael Ramos, Wenjian Liu, Charles R. Kondek, Jr., Jamel Clagett, Tyler Jacob Stewart, Stephen Petruzzello, Thomas Choi, James E. Foster, Jr., and Timothy Mitchell; and

4

- Whereas 44 law enforcement officers across the United States have made the ultimate sacrifice during the first 4 months of 2015: Now, therefore, be it
 - 1 *Resolved*, That the Senate—
 - 2 (1) designates the week of May 10 through May
 3 16, 2015, as "National Police Week";
 - 4 (2) expresses strong support for law enforce5 ment officers across the United States for their ef6 forts to build safer and more secure communities;
- 7 (3) recognizes the need to ensure that law en8 forcement officers have the equipment, training, and
 9 resources necessary to protect their health and safe10 ty while the law enforcement officers are protecting
 11 the public;
- 12 (4) recognizes the members of the law enforce-13 ment community for their selfless acts of bravery;
- 14 (5) acknowledges that police officers and other
 15 law enforcement officers who have made the ultimate
 16 sacrifice should be remembered and honored; and
- (6) encourages the people of the United States
 to observe National Police Week with appropriate
 ceremonies and activities that promote awareness of
 the vital role of law enforcement officers in building
 safer and more secure communities across the
 United States.