

Representing Members Of: AGENCY for INTERNATIOANAL DEVELOPMENT AGRICULTURE-OIG and FOREST SERVICE COMMERCE Export Enforcement, OIG & NOAA Fisheries Law Enforcement DEFENSE Air Force - OIG Army - CID Defense Criminal Investigative Service Naval Criminal Investigative Service OIG EDUCATION - OIG ENERGY -OIG ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY - CID & OIG FEDERAL DEPOST INSURANCE CORPORATION - OIG GENERAL SERVICES ADMIN.-OIG HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Food & Drug Administration & OIG HOMELAND SECURITY Border Patrol Coast Guard Investigative Service Immigration & Customs Enforcement Federal Air Marshal Federal Emergency Management Agency Federal Protective Service US Secret Service Transportation Security Administration HOUSING & URBAN DEVELOPMENT - OIG INTERIOR Bureau of Indian Affairs Bureau of Land Management Fish & Wildlife Service National Park Service OIG U.S. Park Police JUSTICE Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives Drug Enforcement Administration Federal Bureau of Investigation US Marshals Service OIG U.S. Attorney's Office-CI LABOR- OIG & Racketeering NATIONAL AERONAUTICS & SPACE ADMIN. - OIG NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION - OIG POSTAL SERVICE-OIG & Inspection RAILROAD RETIREMENT BOARD - OIG SECURITIES & EXCHANGE COMMISSION - OIG SMALL BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION - OIG SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION - OIG STATE DEPARTMENT Bureau of Diplomatic Security & OIG TRANSPORTATION-OIG TREASURY FINCEN & OIG Internal Revenue Service - CI TIGTA U.S. COURTS (JUDICIAL) Probation, Parole & Pretrial Services **VETERANS AFFAIRS -OIG** NATIONAL OFFICERS President JON ADLER Executive Vice-President NATHAN CATURA Vice President - Operations LAZARO COSME Vice President – Agency Affairs CHRIS SCHOPPMEYER Vice President - Membership Benefits JOHN RAMSEY Secretary ENID FEBUS Treasurer KURTIS ROINESTAD Legislative Director FRANK TERRERI National Chapters Director ROBERT SNYDER National Awards Director

CHRISTINA HONEYWELL National Retirement Director STAN SCHWARTZ National Recruitment Director RASHEED TAHIR Public Affairs Officer JENNIFER MATTINGLEY

FEDERAL LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS ASSOCIATION

1100 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 900 • Washington, D.C. 20036 • 202-293-1550 www.fleoa.org

July 10, 2013

The Honorable Patrick Leahy Chairman Senate Committee on the Judiciary Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Leahy:

On behalf of the Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association (FLEOA), including Special Agents of the Alcohol, Tobacco, & Firearms (ATF), I am writing to you to memorialize our support for the nomination of B. Todd Jones as the Director of ATF.

In an effort to perform our due diligence regarding this nomination, we considered Acting Director Jones' background, his performance leading ATF for the past 15 months, our members' feedback, and issues raised by the Ranking Member. We are duly impressed with Acting Director Jones' background and performance, and our membership feedback is overwhelmingly favorable. Unfortunately, while the Chair has sought our input and has been responsive to our questions, the Ranking Member's staff has not. Therefore, we do not attribute any substantive merit to the position put forth by the Ranking Member.

Alternatively, we are satisfied with the Acting Director's performance, and 15 months is certainly a sufficient amount of time to evaluate his leadership objectively. He is an honorable Marine and dedicated law enforcement professional. ATF should have a confirmed director to support their formidable mission and to ensure continuity in field operations. The concerns raised by the gun lobby should be addressed by Congress via proposed legislation, and should not be used as a partisan ploy to prevent Acting Director Jones' confirmation.

Please contact me directly with any questions you may have regarding FLEOA'S support for the confirmation of B. Todd Jones.

Respectfully yours,

I. Adler

Jon Adler National President Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association