The Honorable Charles Grassley Chairman, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Richard Durbin Ranking Member, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of Whitney Hermandorfer for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Durbin:

We write in support of Whitney D. Hermandorfer's nomination to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. As a bipartisan group of current and former state solicitors general, we have regularly appeared before the U.S. Courts of Appeals. And though the signatories to this letter have diverse political and jurisprudential perspectives, we all agree that Whitney would be a superb addition to the Sixth Circuit.

Whitney possesses the skill, integrity, and intellect needed to serve as a member of the federal judiciary. She has briefed and argued complex legal questions in courts throughout the country, including the Sixth Circuit. And these questions arose in some of the most consequential cases of our time. Those who have worked alongside her and those who have opposed her have witnessed firsthand her sound judgment, clear thinking, and exceptional legal acumen. Whitney represents the very best the legal profession has to offer.

The breadth of Whitney's experiences—spanning public service, private practice, and clerkships at each level of the federal judiciary—leaves her well-prepared for the bench. A leadership role in an Attorney General's Office, like Whitney's, serves as a powerful experience multiplier, sharpening legal judgment through a heavy docket of high-stakes matters. Whitney came to that role after years of practice at an elite firm with preeminent appellate advocates Lisa Blatt and Sarah Harris. And her clerkships for four distinguished jurists engrained her unwavering commitment to justice and the rule of law.

Finally, and most importantly, Whitney is an extraordinary person. A former college athlete, two-time Supreme Court clerk, and proud girl mom, Whitney is precisely the kind of well-rounded individual our country needs on the federal bench. And even with her unparalleled credentials, Whitney carries herself with uncommon humility and a sincere care for others. She's grounded, principled, and guided by a deep sense of devotion to our great nation. We are confident that, if confirmed, she will thoughtfully apply the law in each case that comes before her, treating all litigants with respect and fairness.

For these reasons, we strongly support the nomination of Whitney Hermandorfer to the Sixth Circuit and urge the Senate to confirm her without delay.

## Sincerely,

- J. Matthew Rice (Solicitor General of Tennessee, 2024-present)
- J. Benjamin Aguiñaga (Solicitor General of Louisiana, 2024-present)

Jessica M. Alloway (Solicitor General for Civil Appeals of Alaska, 2021-present)

Philip Axt (Solicitor General of North Dakota, 2023-present)

Cody Barnett (Solicitor General of Nebraska, 2025-present)

James A. Barta (Solicitor General of Indiana, 2023-present)

Andrée Blumstein (Solicitor General of Tennessee, 2014-2024)

John J. Bursch (Solicitor General of Michigan, 2011-2013)

James A. Campbell (Solicitor General of Nebraska, 2020-2023)

Christian B. Corrigan (Solicitor General of Montana, 2022-present)

Jeffrey DeSousa (Acting Solicitor General of Florida, 2025-present)

David Dewhirst (Solicitor General of Montana, 2021-2022)

Andrew Ferguson (Solicitor General of Virginia, 2022-2024)

Thomas M. Fisher (Solicitor General of Indiana, 2005-2023)

Benjamin M. Flowers (Solicitor General of Ohio, 2019-2023)

Garry M. Gaskins, II (Solicitor General of Oklahoma, 2023-present)

Eric J. Hamilton (Solicitor General of Nebraska, 2023-2025)

Kyle D. Hawkins (Solicitor General of Texas, 2018-2021)

Melissa Holyoak (Solicitor General of Utah, 2020-2024)

Thomas Hydrick (Solicitor General of South Carolina, 2025-present)

Scott A. Keller (Solicitor General of Texas, 2015-2018)

Matthew F. Kuhn (Solicitor General of Kentucky, 2021-present)

Edmund LaCour (Solicitor General of Alabama, 2019-present)

Erika L. Maley (Solicitor General of Virginia, 2024-present)

Mithun Mansinghani (Solicitor General of Oklahoma, 2017-2022)

Liz Murrill (Solicitor General of Louisiana, 2016-2023)

Aaron L. Nielson (Solicitor General of Texas, 2023-present)

Autumn H. Patterson (Solicitor General of Arkansas, 2025-present)

Stephen J. Petrany (Solicitor General of Georgia, 2021-present)

Anthony J. Powell (Solicitor General of Kansas, 2023-present)

Stanford Purser (Solicitor General of Utah, 2024-present)

Brunn (Beau) Roysden (Solicitor General of Arizona, 2020-2022)

Lindsay See (Solicitor General of West Virginia, 2018-2024)

Ann M. Sherman (Solicitor General of Michigan, 2022-present)

O.H. Skinner (Solicitor General of Arizona, 2019-2020)

Scott G. Stewart (Solicitor General of Mississippi, 2021-present)

Caroline S. Van Zile (Solicitor General of the District of Columbia, 2022-present)

Eric H. Wessan (Solicitor General of Iowa, 2023-present)

Michael R. Williams (Solicitor General of West Virginia, 2024-present)

All titles are listed for identification only. Signatories write in their personal capacity.