The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy Chairman, Judiciary Committee United States Senate 244 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Minority Member, Judiciary Committee United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Leahy and Ranking Member Grassley:

We are writing to express our strong support for the nomination of John Cruden to become Assistant Attorney General for the Environment and Natural Resources Division of the Department of Justice. He is a proven leader, a superb lawyer, and a patriot.

The undersigned are 26 former Presidents of the District of Columbia Bar. With more than 100,000 members, the D.C. Bar is the second largest unified bar in the United States. Its core functions include licensing lawyers, operating a disciplinary system to deal with professional misconduct, and maintaining a Clients' Security Fund. The Bar also undertakes educational and public service activities, including an award-winning program to provide pro bono legal representation to the poor. The President of the D.C. Bar is elected by the entire active membership.

John Cruden was President of the D.C. Bar in 2005-2006. He was the first person to serve as Bar President while working as a government lawyer. Leading by example, he strongly encouraged other government lawyers to provide pro bono legal assistance to people unable to afford a lawyer. He worked at Saturday morning clinics providing legal advice to low-income residents of the District of Columbia. He made the Bar more responsive to the needs of government lawyers and recruited government lawyers to participate for the first time in Bar activities. His legacy is a Bar that better serves the needs of its community, particularly those who cannot afford to pay for a lawyer; that reflects the diversity of law practice in its community; and that provides better support to its members in the public sector.

John's entire career has been devoted to public service. A graduate of West Point and a former Army Ranger, he had a distinguished career in military. He took the Law School Admission Test while he was serving in Vietnam. He was awarded the Bronze Star, the Legion of Merit, and the Defense Meritorious Service Medal. The quality of his work as a lawyer for the Army and as Deputy Assistant Attorney General in the Environmental and Natural Resources Division is reflected in numerous citations.

The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy The Honorable Charles E. Grassley February 24, 2014

The vision and leadership John exhibited in getting elected President of the Bar and then in serving so ably in that position are talents he would bring to bear as Assistant Attorney General. John's integrity inspires trust. His unceasing good humor inspires loyalty. His intellect and judgment inspire confidence. Based on John's work with the Bar and on his long distinguished career in public service, we have no doubt that he would be a highly effective leader for the Division.

We urge that John be confirmed as Assistant Attorney General for the Environmental and Natural Resources Division.

Sincerely,

Sara-Ann Determan DC Bar President, 1990-1991 Ronald S. Flagg DC Bar President, 2010-2011 Jamie S. Gorelick DC Bar President, 1992-1993 Shirley A. Higuchi DC Bar President, 2003-2004 George W. Jones, Jr. DC Bar President, 2002-2003 Kim M. Keenan DC Bar President, 2009-2010 John C. Keeney, Jr. DC Bar President, 2004-2005 Philip A. Lacovara DC Bar President, 1988-1989 Carolyn B. Lamm DC Bar President, 1997-1998 Myles V. Lynk DC Bar President, 1996-1997 Andrew H. Marks DC Bar President, 1998-1999 Darrell G. Motley DC Bar President, 2011-2012 John W. Nields, Jr. DC Bar President, 2000-2001

Daniel A. Rezneck DC Bar President, 1975-1976 James Robertson DC Bar President, 1991-1992 James J. Sandman DC Bar President, 2006-2007 Pauline A. Schneider DC Bar President, 1994-1995 Robert, J. Spagnoletti DC Bar President, 2008-2009 Joan H. Strand DC Bar President, 1999-2000 Marna S. Tucker DC Bar President, 1984-1985 Mark H. Tuohey III DC Bar President, 1993-1994 Robert L. Weinberg DC Bar President, 1978-1979 Robert N. Weiner DC Bar President, 1995-1996 Melvin White DC Bar President, 2007-2008 Thomas S. Williamson, Jr. DC Bar President, 2012-2013 Charles R. Work DC Bar President, 1976-1977