May 13, 2013

The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy Chairman, Judiciary Committee United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Minority Member, Judiciary Committee United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Leahy and Ranking Member Grassley:

We are writing to express our strong support for Stuart Delery's nomination to become Assistant Attorney General for the Civil Division of the Department of Justice.

The undersigned have held government office in Democratic and Republican administrations. We all know and have worked directly with Mr. Delery—some of us for many years, others of us only more recently. All of us hold him in the very highest regard, and admire him for his even-handedness, his integrity, his exceptional intellect, and his superb legal judgment.

Mr. Delery has had a distinguished career in both public service and private practice. He graduated from Yale Law School in 1993, and served as a law clerk for Judge Gerald Tjoflat of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit and Justices Byron White and Sandra Day O'Connor of the Supreme Court of the United States. He joined the firm that is now Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr in 1995, where he was promoted to partner in 2001. He joined the Department of Justice in 2009, where he has served with distinction, including (in an acting capacity) in the position for which he has been nominated. His legal experience spans internal investigations, defense of clients in criminal, civil and administrative investigations, trial-level litigation, and appeals.

Mr. Delery has earned our trust, confidence and respect. As former government officials from across the political spectrum, we have the utmost confidence that he will continue to serve (as he has since 2009) as the model government lawyer—committed above all to serving both principles of justice and the interests of the United States.

For all of these reasons we strongly urge the Senate to confirm Mr. Delery to serve as the Assistant Attorney General for the Civil Division.

## Sincerely,

Jamie S. Gorelick Deputy Attorney General Department of Justice 1994-1997

David Barron Acting Assistant Attorney General Office of Legal Counsel Department of Justice 2009-2010

Brian A. Benckowski Chief of Staff, Office of the Attorney General Department of Justice 2008-2009

Reginald J. Brown Former Special Assistant to the President and Associate White House Counsel 2003-2005

Jonathan G. Cedarbaum Acting Assistant Attorney General Office of Legal Counsel Department of Justice 2010-2011

Paul D. Clement Solicitor General Department of Justice 2005-2008

Viet D. Dinh Assistant Attorney General Office of Legal Policy Department of Justice 2001-2003

John P. Elwood Deputy Assistant Attorney General Office of Legal Counsel Department of Justice 2005-2009 Mark Filip Deputy Attorney General Department of Justice 2008-2009

Joseph R. Guerra Principal Deputy Associate Attorney General Department of Justice 2009-2010

Jeh Charles Johnson General Counsel Department of Defense 2009-2012

David S. Kris Assistant Attorney General National Security Division Department of Justice 2009-2011

Joan Larsen Deputy Assistant Attorney General Office of Legal Counsel Department of Justice 2002-2003

William R. McLucas Director, Division of Enforcement Securities and Exchange Commission 1989-1998

Daniel Meron General Counsel Department of Health and Human Services 2007-2007

Randolph D. Moss Assistant Attorney General Office of Legal Counsel Department of Justice 2000-2001 Carl J. Nichols Principal Deputy Associate Attorney General Department of Justice 2008-2009

Thomas J. Perrelli Associate Attorney General Department of Justice 2009-2012

Jeannie S. Rhee Deputy Assistant Attorney General Office of Legal Counsel Department of Justice 2009-2011

Howard M. Shapiro General Counsel Federal Bureau of Investigation 1993-1997 Theodore W. Ullyot Chief of Staff, Office of the Attorney General Department of Justice 2005

Seth P. Waxman Solicitor General Department of Justice 1997-2001

Robert N. Weiner Associate Deputy Attorney General Department of Justice 2010-2012