# Results of Executive Business Meeting - December 3, 2009

The Senate Judiciary Committee held an executive business meeting to consider pending nominations and legislation on December 3, 2009.

## Agenda

### I. Nominations

Thomas I. Vanaskie to be United States Circuit Judge for the Third Circuit

Ordered Reported by Roll Call Vote, 16 - 3

Louis B. Butler, Jr. to be United States District Judge for the Western District of Wisconsin

Ordered Reported by Roll Call Vote, 12 - 7

Denny Chin to be United States Circuit Judge for the Second Circuit **Held Over** 

Rosanna Malouf Peterson to be United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Washington

**Held Over** 

William M. Conley to be United States District Judge for the Western District of Wisconsin **Held Over** 

Susan B. Carbon to be Director of the Violence Against Women Office, U.S. Department of Justice

## **Ordered Reported by Voice Vote**

John H. Laub to be Director of the National Institute of Justice, U.S. Department of Justice

Ordered Reported by Voice Vote

Sharon Jeanette Lubinski to be United States Marshal for the District of Minnesota

Ordered Reported by Voice Vote

Mary Elizabeth Phillips to be United States Attorney for the Western District of Missouri

Ordered Reported by Voice Vote

Sanford C. Coats to be United States Attorney for the Western District of Oklahoma

Ordered Reported by Voice Vote

Stephen James Smith to be United States Marshal for the Southern District of Georgia

Ordered Reported by Voice Vote

#### II. Bills

S. 448, Free Flow of Information Act of 2009 (Specter, Schumer, Graham, Klobuchar)

Held Over

Amendment **HEN09C50** (Kyl) **Adopted by Voice Vote** 

Amendment **HEN09871** (Hatch) **Held** 

Amendment **HEN09B24** (Specter) **Adopted on November 19** 

Amendment **HEN09789** (Kyl) **Failed by Roll Call Vote, 6 - 13, on November 19** 

Amendment **HEN09B75** (Kyl) **Failed by Roll Call Vote, 7 - 12, on November 19** 

S. 714, National Criminal Justice Commission Act of 2009 (Webb, Graham, Leahy, Hatch, Schumer, Durbin, Cardin, Whitehouse, Franken, Specter)

#### **Held Over**

- S. 1624, Medical Bankruptcy Fairness Act of 2009 (Whitehouse, Franken, Feingold)

  Held Over
- S. 1765, Hate Crimes Against the Homeless Statistics Act of 2009 (Cardin, Schumer, Whitehouse, Leahy)

**Held Over** 

S. 1353, Dale Long Emergency Medical Service Providers Protection Act (Leahy)

Ordered Reported by Voice Vote

Amendment **JEN09F02** (Leahy) **Adopted by Unanimous Consent** 

S. 678, Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Reauthorization Act of 2009 (Leahy, Kohl, Durbin, Specter)

**Held Over**