The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 135 Hart Senate Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 711 Hart Senate Building Washington, DC 20501

July 23, 2025

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Durbin,

We are faculty and alumni of Notre Dame Law School who had the privilege of teaching Josh Dunlap or studying alongside him. We write in enthusiastic support of his nomination to the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit.

We come from diverse walks of life: practicing attorneys, academics, in-house counsel, and public servants. We have different professional backgrounds and political affiliations. Yet we are united in our conviction that Josh Dunlap would be an outstanding federal appellate judge.

At Notre Dame, Josh stood out for his humble demeanor and his extraordinary command of the law. He graduated first in his class and was awarded the Colonel William J. Hoynes Award, the law school's highest honor, given to the graduate with the most distinguished academic record. That accomplishment alone is notable, but Josh's intellect was never merely academic. He had a gift for analytical precision, clear writing, and principled legal reasoning.

Some of us served with Josh on the *Notre Dame Law Review*, where he earned the respect of his classmates for his work ethic and his excellent writing. He approached the law with rigor and humility, and his work consistently reflected a deep commitment to excellence.

Beyond his remarkable academic record, Josh is a person of integrity and character. In classrooms and seminar discussions, he demonstrated respect for differing views and a deep appreciation for the rule of law. Josh was unfailingly gracious. He listened carefully, argued thoughtfully, and treated peers and professors alike with genuine courtesy.

We believe Josh would serve the First Circuit with distinction. His high intelligence, strong work ethic, and even temperament make him well suited for the appellate bench. We respectfully urge the Senate to consider his nomination with the seriousness it deserves and to confirm him to the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit.

Sincerely,

Derek T. Muller Class of 2007	Lauren Galgano Barron Class of 2008	Anthony J. Bellia Jr. O'Toole Professor of Constitutional Law
Adam Brandon	Brian Burke	Jessica A. Burke
Class of 2007	Class of 2007	Class of 2008
Thomas Burnett	Paolo G. Carozza	Kathryn Barrett Christensen
Class of 2009	Professor of Law	Class of 2008
Daniel P. Cory Class of 2008	John J. Coughlin Global Distinguished Professor of Religious Studies and Law, New York University, Abu Dhabi	Guilherme M. Costa Class of 2008
Jessica (Laux) Donlon	Robert Driscoll	Will Dubon
Class of 2009	Class of 2007	Class of 2008
Sean P. Dudley	Stephen M. Duvernay	Aaron Bart Fricke
Class of 2008	Class of 2007	Class of 2008
David Gammill Class of 2008	Anjan K. Ganguly Class of 2007	Nicole Stelle Garnett John P. Murphy Foundation Professor of Law
Richard W. Garnett Paul J. Schierl Professor of Law	David Gilbert Class of 2008	Joan Claire Gilbert Class of 2008
Paul Green	Daniel Gunning	Matthew R. Hays
Class of 2007	Class of 2008	Class of 2008

Jane Holman	Stephen M. Judge	William K. Kelley
Class of 2008	Class of 2007	Associate Professor of Law
Rebecca J. Ketchie	Katherine Kirkpatrick Bos	Chris Krueger
Class of 2008	Class of 2009	Class of 2008
Stephen Leys	E. Rebekah Long	Marie-Therese Mansfield
Class of 2008	Class of 2008	Class of 2008
G. David Mathues	Lloyd Hitoshi Mayer	George McDonnell
Class of 2007	Professor of Law	Class of 2008
Matthew Raymond McGowen Class of 2008	Brian P. Morrissey, Jr. Class of 2007	Tara S. Morrissey Class of 2007
Carissa Mulder	Francis X. Nolan, IV	Anna Franzonello Paprocki
Class of 2009	Class of 2008	Class of 2009
Matthew Pepping	David Raimer	Lee Roach
Class of 2008	Class of 2008	Class of 2008
David Roberts	Gregory B. Sanford	Steven Shim
Class of 2009	Class of 2008	Class of 2007
O. Carter Snead Charles E. Rice Professor of Law	Andrew Soukup Class of 2008	Nicole Somers Soukup Class of 2008
Geoff Spiess	Leonard Stewart	Stephen J. Wallace
Class of 2008	Class of 2007	Class of 2009
Chris Wilson Class of 2008	Blake Zollar Class of 2009	