The Honorable Charles Grassley Chairman, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Richard Durbin Ranking Member, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 711 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

> Re: Letter of support from current and former state solicitors general for Joshua Divine's nomination to the United States District Court for the Eastern and Western Districts of Missouri

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Durbin:

We write as current and former state solicitors general to express our enthusiastic support for the nomination of Joshua Divine to the United States District Court for the Eastern and Western Districts of Missouri. Having collaborated with Josh as we have served as chief appellate advocates for our respective states, we have unique insight into his exceptional qualifications for the federal bench. In addition to his work as Missouri's top appellate lawyer, Josh's leadership on significant multistate litigation has demonstrated his legal acumen, judicious temperament, and unwavering commitment to the rule of law.

As state solicitors general, we often lead complex litigation affecting millions of citizens. This responsibility requires not only mastery of constitutional principles, but also the ability to navigate intricate statutory schemes and administrative regulations—precisely the range of issues that come before federal district courts daily. Throughout our interactions with Josh in his capacity as Missouri's Solicitor General, we have witnessed firsthand his capacity to analyze multifaceted legal questions with both intellectual rigor and practical wisdom.

Josh has distinguished himself among our ranks through his exemplary advocacy in cases spanning diverse areas of federal and state law. His leadership in *Missouri v. Biden*, where he successfully challenged the federal student loan forgiveness program, demonstrated his ability to navigate complex administrative law and constitutional principles at the highest level. In *Noe v. Parson*, he was one of the first lawyers to successfully defend at the trial level state age limits on

hormonal and surgical gender transitioning treatments for minors. And his work in *Missouri v. China* broke new ground in addressing questions of foreign sovereign immunity. Josh approaches each case with meticulous preparation, intellectual honesty, and keen attention to detail.

Beyond his technical legal abilities, Josh exhibits the judicial temperament necessary for the bench. He listens to opposing viewpoints, engages with counterarguments, and maintains professional composure even in the most contentious litigation settings. Josh's colleagues regularly seek his counsel not only for his legal insights but also for his balanced judgment and principled approach to difficult questions. These qualities—patience, fairness, and thoughtful deliberation—are indispensable for a district court judge who must manage complex litigation and render impartial decisions.

As his professional peers who have observed Josh's work in the challenging arena of high-stakes public-law litigation, we are confident that he possesses the intellectual capacity, legal expertise, judicial temperament, and ethical foundation to serve with distinction on the United States District Court. We wholeheartedly endorse his nomination and urge the Committee to support his confirmation.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Benjamin Aguiñaga (Solicitor General of Louisiana, 2024-present)

Jessica M. Alloway (Solicitor General of Alaska, 2021-present)

Philip Axt (Solicitor General of North Dakota, 2023-present)

Cody S. Barnett (Solicitor General of Nebraska, 2025-present)

James A. Barta (Solicitor General of Indiana, 2023-present)

Andrée Sophia Blumstein (Solicitor General of Tennessee, 2014-2024)

John J. Bursch (Solicitor General of Michigan, 2011-2013)

James A. Campbell (Solicitor General of Nebraska, 2020-2023)

Christian Corrigan (Solicitor General of Montana, 2022-present)

Jeffrey DeSousa (Acting Solicitor General of Florida, 2025-present)

David Dewhirst (Solicitor General of Montana, 2021-2022)

Andrew Ferguson (Solicitor General of Virginia, 2022-2024)

Thomas M. Fisher (Solicitor General of Indiana, 2005-2023)

Benjamin M. Flowers (Solicitor General of Ohio, 2019-2023)

Garry M. Gaskins, II (Solicitor General of Oklahoma, 2023-present)

Eric J. Hamilton (Solicitor General of Nebraska, 2023-2025)

Kyle D. Hawkins (Solicitor General of Texas, 2018-2021)

Melissa Holyoak (Solicitor General of Utah, 2020-2024)

Thomas Hydrick (Solicitor General of South Carolina, 2025-present)

Scott A. Keller (Solicitor General of Texas, 2015-2018)

Matthew F. Kuhn (Solicitor General of Kentucky, 2021-present)

Edmund LaCour (Solicitor General of Alabama, 2019-present)

Mithun Mansinghani (Solicitor General of Oklahoma, 2017-2022)

Liz Murrill (Solicitor General of Louisiana, 2016-2023)

Aaron L. Nielson (Solicitor General of Texas, 2023-present)

Autumn Hamit Patterson (Solicitor General of Arkansas, 2025-present)

Stephen Petrany (Solicitor General of Georgia, 2021-present)

Anthony Powell (Solicitor General of Kansas, 2023-present)

Stanford Purser (Solicitor General of Utah, 2024-present)

J. Matthew Rice (Solicitor General of Tennessee, 2024-present)

Brunn (Beau) Roysden (Solicitor General of Arizona, 2020-2022)

Scott G. Stewart (Solicitor General of Mississippi, 2021-present)

Judd Stone (Solicitor General of Texas, 2021-2023)

Paul S. Swedlund (Solicitor General of South Dakota, 2021-present)

Eric Wessan (Solicitor General of Iowa, 2023-present)

Michael R. Williams (Solicitor General of West Virginia, 2024-present)

Titles are listed only for identification. Signatories write only in their personal capacity.