The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Chairman, Senate Judiciary Committee 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Ranking Member, Senate Judiciary Committee 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Re: Nomination of Patrick Davis as Assistant Attorney General (Office of Legislative Affairs)

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Durbin,

We write to express our strong support for the nomination of Patrick Davis to serve as the Assistant Attorney General for the Department of Justice, Office of Legislative Affairs. Each of us previously served with Mr. Davis at the Department of Justice or in other senior government roles. We have seen first-hand his professionalism, integrity, and legal acumen.

After excelling academically at the University of Nebraska, Mr. Davis attended Georgetown University Law Center and has practiced law for nearly twenty years. Most his career has been dedicated to public service – including seven years as a trial attorney in the Civil Division Federal Programs Branch, over five years as counsel to committees of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, as a trade association senior counsel, and over two years as Deputy Associate Attorney General, where most of us got to know and work with Mr. Davis. Mr. Davis was hardworking and consistently displayed outstanding judgment and skilled legal analysis.

We are confident Mr. Davis has the skills and experience to excel as Assistant Attorney General, and we thus enthusiastically support his confirmation.

Respectfully,

| R. Trent McCotter | Douglas Rathbun |
|---|---|
| Deputy Associate Attorney General (2020-2021) | Trial Attorney, Assistant Chief, Counsel (2000 – 2021) |
| Jesse Panuccio | |
| Acting Associate Attorney General and Principal | Jennifer B. Dickey |
| Deputy Associate Attorney General (2017-2019) | Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Civil Division (2020-2021); Deputy Associate |
| Jeff Beelaert | Attorney General (2019-2020) |
| Deputy Associate Attorney General (2020-2021) | |
| | Michael Murray |
| John Coghlan | Associate Deputy Attorney General, Principal |
| Deputy Assistant Attorney General (2020-2021) | Deputy Assistant Attorney General and Deputy Assistant Attorney General (Antitrust Division) |
| Steven A. Engel | (2017-2021) |
| Assistant Attorney General, Office of Legal | |
| Counsel (2017-2021) | |

Christopher Bates Senior Counsel to the Assistant Attorney General, Civil Division (2019-2021)

William R. Levi Chief of Staff and Senior Counselor to the Attorney General (2020); Counselor to the Attorney General (2018-2019)

Corinne Snow Chief of Staff to the Environment Division (2016-2019)

Brian Morrissey Deputy General Counsel, U.S. Department of the Treasury (2019-2021)

Hashim Mooppan Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Civil Appellate Staff (2017-2021)

Joshua Wu Deputy Assistant Attorney General (2019-2021)

Brian H. Pandya Deputy Associate Attorney General (2019-2021)

Dan Mauler Trial Attorney - Federal Programs Branch (2018-2021) Jonathan Brightbill Environment & Natural Resources Division (2017-21)

Ryan Newman Counselor to the U.S. Attorney General (2020-2021), Acting Assistant Attorney General for the Office of Legal Policy (2017)

Prerak Shah Acting U.S. Attorney for NDTX (2021); First Assistant U.S. Attorney for NDTX (2020-21); Deputy Assistant Attorney General (2020); Deputy Associate Attorney General (2019-2020)

Laura Jenkins Plack Counsel to the DAG (2019-2020); Associate Deputy Attorney General (2020-2021)

James Burnham Senior Counsel (2017-2018), Deputy Assistant Attorney General (2018-2020), Counselor to the Attorney General (2020)

Christopher Grieco Associate Deputy Attorney General (2019-21)

Jenn Mascott Associate Deputy Attorney General (2020-2021); Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Office of Legal Counsel (2019-2021)