

International Association of Chiefs of Police

515 North Washington Street Alexandria, VA 22314–2357 Phone: 703-836–6767; 1-800-THE IACP Fax: 703-836–4543 Web: www.theiacp.org President Craig T. Steckler Chief of Police Fremont Police Department Fremont, CA

Immediate Past President Walter A. McNeil Chief of Police Quincy Police Department Quincy, Florida

First Vice President Yousry "Yost" Zakhary Director Woodway Public Safety Department Woodway, TX

Second Vice President Richard Beary Chief of Police University of Central Florida Orlando, FL Third Vice President Ronal W. Serpas Superintendent of Police New Orleans Police Department New Orleans, LA

Fourth Vice President Terrence Cunningham Chief of Police Wellesley Police Department Wellesley, MA

Vice President at Large Kent Barker Chief of Police Tualatin Police Department Tualatin, OR

Vice President at Large James Craze Chief of Police Greenbelt Police Department Greenbelt, MD International Vice President Nelson Werlang Garcia Chief, Community Policing & Human Rights Center Polícia Militar do Distrito Federal Brasilia, Brazil

Vice President-Treasurer Dwight Henninger Chief of Police Vail Police Department Vail, CO

General Chair Division of State Associations of Chiefs of Police Peter Carnes Chief of Police Stonehill College Police & Safety Easton, MA

General Chair Division of State and Provincial Police Colonel Michael D. Edmonson Deputy Secretary, Public Safety Services Superintendent, Louisiana State Police Baton Rouge, LA Parliamentarian Ellen Hanson (retired) Chief of Police Lenexa Police Department Lenexa, KS

Executive Director Bart R. Johnson Alexandria, VA

Deputy Executive Director Chief of Staff James W. McMahon Alexandria, VA

January 29, 2013

The Honorable Patrick Leahy Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Leahy:

On behalf of the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), I am pleased to inform you of our support for the nomination of B. Todd Jones to serve as the next Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF).

Throughout his career, Mr. Jones has demonstrated an unyielding commitment to protecting public safety. His years of experience as a U.S. Attorney have provided him the opportunity to work with law enforcement agencies and he has gained a unique understanding of the challenges and the complexities agencies face in combating firearms violence, gang crime, and other threats to our communities.

The IACP believes that Mr. Jones' years of experience, his expertise, and his record of success are evidence of his outstanding qualifications to serve as the next ATF Director. The IACP urges the Judiciary Committee and the members of the United States Senate to confirm Mr. Jones' nomination in a timely fashion.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Please let me know how the IACP may be of further assistance in this vitally important process.

Sincerely,

Chief Craig Steckler President

Serving the Leaders of Today, Developing the Leaders of Tomorrow