

November 14, 2014

The Honorable Patrick Leahy Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate

The Honorable Charles Grassley Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate

Dear Chairman Leahy and Ranking Member Grassley:

I am writing on behalf of the Copyright Alliance to urge the swift confirmation of Mr. Daniel Marti as the next Intellectual Property Enforcement Coordinator (IPEC). Mr. Marti has a distinguished record as an intellectual property lawyer, as well as a personal and family connection to the creative community, which will serve him well in understanding the many opportunities and challenges creative workers and innovators face in the current environment. As Managing Partner of the DC office of Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP, Mr. Marti additionally has the credentials indicating an ability to establish a more lasting administrative template for the office, which should serve to ensure that resources are used wisely in organizing and operating the office, particularly in the face of budgetary challenges.

It is also important to move quickly to fill the important position of IPEC, which has been vacant for almost sixteen months, for policy reasons. The copyright sector alone contributes over one trillion dollars and 5.4 million jobs to the economy and is credited with \$142 billion in foreign sales and exports. Maintaining a strong and capable presence in the role of IPEC is of vital importance to preserve and expand these contributions to our economy.

Thank you for the opportunity to share our views on this important nomination.

Best regards,

Sandra Aistars Chief Executive Officer Copyright Alliance



The Honorable Dianne Feinstein The Honorable Charles Schumer The Honorable Dick Durbin The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse The Honorable Amy Klobuchar The Honorable Al Franken The Honorable Christopher A. Coons The Honorable Richard Blumenthal The Honorable Mazie Hirono The Honorable Orrin G. Hatch The Honorable Jeff Sessions The Honorable Lindsey Graham The Honorable John Cornyn The Honorable Michael S. Lee The Honorable Ted Cruz The Honorable Jeff Flake