March 24, 2025

Chairman Chuck Grassley Ranking Member Dick Durbin 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Durbin,

We, the undersigned former colleagues of Mr. John Eisenberg, whose nomination to serve as Assistant Attorney General for National Security is currently before your esteemed committee, hereby express our unequivocal support for his confirmation. We offer this testimony based on our direct observations of his exceptional moral character, profound expertise, and extensive experience.

Mr. Eisenberg is a proven leader with a distinguished record of successfully addressing the complex national security challenges facing the United States. His conduct has consistently exemplified the highest standards of professionalism, unassailable integrity, and commitment to fairness. He has been an invaluable colleague and a respected mentor, leaving an enduring positive impact on those with whom he has collaborated. We have witnessed his remarkable ability to synthesize intricate legal and security matters into coherent, actionable strategies, all while maintaining an unwavering commitment to the rule of law.

Mr. Eisenberg possesses an unwavering dedication to the rule of law and an unwavering commitment to the security of our nation. He will provide steadfast leadership in this position, upholding the core values of the Department of Justice.

We firmly believe that Mr. Eisenberg is the ideal candidate to lead the National Security Division. His confirmation would not only uphold the principles and mandate of the Department of Justice but would also ensure that this critical division is led by an individual of unparalleled competence, well-equipped to navigate the exigencies of this pivotal juncture in our nation's history. We therefore offer our unqualified endorsement of his nomination and respectfully urge the committee to confirm him without reservation.

Respectfully submitted,

Alexander B. Gray Former Deputy Assistant to the President and Chief of Staff, White House National Security Council (2019-2021)

Amy M. Wells-Morgan Former Deputy Legal Advisor, National Security Council (2018-2019)

Anthony Ruggiero Former Deputy Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Counterproliferation and Biodefense, National Security Council (2019-2021)

Coreen Mao Former Deputy Legal Advisor, National Security Council (2020-2021)

E. Erin Walsh Former Deputy Assistant to the President and Senior Director for African Affairs, National Security Council (2019-2021)

Julia Bristol Former Special Assistant, National Security Council and Department of Homeland Security, Office of the Secretary (2019-2021)

Karl Gunderson

Major General (Ret.) Lee K. Levy II NASA Advisory Council (2018-2021) Commander, Air Force Sustainment Center (2016-2018)

Marc Krickbaum Former Counsel to the Deputy Attorney General (2008-2009)

Michael Ellis Former Deputy Legal Advisor, National Security Council (2017-2020) Former Senior Director for Intelligence Programs, National Security Council (2020-2021) Spencer R. Fisher Former Deputy Legal Advisor, National Security Council (2019-2021)

Sue J. Bai

Former Deputy Assistant to the President and Principal Deputy Legal Advisor, National Security Council (2020-2021)