## Officers

President Donny Youngblood Sheriff, Kern County

1st Vice President Bill Brown

Sheriff, Santa Barbara County 2nd Vice President

Steve Moore Sheriff, San Joaquin County Secretary

David Livingston Sheriff, Contra Costa County

Treasurer David Robinson Sheriff, Kings County

Sergeant-at-Arms Dean Growdon Sheriff, Lassen County Immediate Past President

Martin Ryan Sheriff, Amador County

## Directors

Tom Allman Sheriff, Mendocino County

Tom Bosenko Sheriff, Shasta County

Geoff Dean Sheriff, Ventura County

Mike Downey Sheriff, Humboldt County

Steve Durfor Sheriff, Yuba County

Tom Ferrara Sheriff, Solano County

Steve Freitas Sheriff, Sonoma County

Sandra Hutchens Sheriff, Orange County

Margaret Mims Sheriff, Fresno County

Ian Parkinson Sheriff, San Luis Obispo County

Darren Thompson Sheriff, San Benito County

## **Presidents' Counsel**

Gregory J. Ahern Sheriff, Alameda County

Ed Bonner Sheriff, Placer County

Adam Christianson Sheriff, Stanislaus County

Robert Doyle Sheriff, Marin County

Keith Roval Sheriff, Nevada County

Laurie Smith Sheriff, Santa Clara County

M. Carmen Green Executive Director

Catherine M. Coyne Deputy Executive Director

Martin J. Mayer General Counsel

Nick Warner Policy Director

Cory Salzillo Legislative Director



California State Sheriffs' Association Organization Founded by the Sheriffs in 1894

December 20, 2016

The Honorable Jeff Sessions United States Senator 326 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 Fax: 202-224-3149

## **CSSA Support of Nomination and Confirmation as** Subject: **United States Attorney General**

Dear Senator Sessions:

On behalf of the California State Sheriffs' Association (CSSA), which represents the 58 elected Sheriffs of California, we write to convey our support of your nomination and confirmation as United States Attorney General.

It is clear from your service in the U.S. Senate that you place a high priority on upholding the rule of law, supporting our nation's military and law enforcement, and requiring the utmost integrity of yourself and those that serve with you. The Sheriffs of California anticipate that your experience will be an effective asset for our country as United States Attorney General.

Thank you and please don't hesitate to contact us if we can be of further assistance to you regarding this matter.

Respectfully,

12

Gregory of aber

Sheriff, Kern County

Donny Youngblood, CSSA President Gregory J. Ahern, Chair-CSSA Political Action Committee Sheriff, Alameda County

DHY/GJA/cmc

Vice President-Elect Michael Pence, President-Elect's Transition Team cc: The Honorable Dianne Feinstein, United States Senator Jonathan Thompson, Executive Director - National Sheriffs' Association Michael Ferrence, Executive Director - Major County Sheriffs' Association **California Sheriffs** Carmen Green, CSSA Executive Director Cory M. Salzillo, CSSA Legislative Director Nick Warner, CSSA Policy Director Usha Mutschler, CSSA Legislative Representative

SessionsforUSAttorneyGeneralCSSAEndorsement121416

Ed Prieto Sheriff, Yolo County