## SUSAN R. PODOLSKY ATTORNEY AT LAW

July 26, 2021

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 711 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

We write to express our strong support for the nominations of Michael S. Nachmanoff and Patricia Tolliver Giles to the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia.

We are a diverse group of lawyers, practicing in a wide variety of different areas and representing a range of clients. What we share in common is a keen interest in continuing the strong contribution of the Eastern District of Virginia to the federal judiciary and its important role in our constitutional system.

That interest unites us in strongly and uniformly endorsing Patricia and Michael for the two judicial vacancies in the Alexandria Division of the Eastern District of Virginia.

We know Patricia and Michael through various means—as personal friends, professional colleagues, and/or professional adversaries. Both are extraordinarily well qualified to be District Judges and possess the qualities and characteristics required to properly discharge their judicial obligations. In particular, both are highly intelligent, thoughtful, compassionate, strong and fair-minded. Both are willing to work hard to reach fair and reasonable resolutions. And both are people of integrity and high character.

We strongly and respectfully recommend your swift confirmation of their nominations.

Hon. Richard J. Durbin Hon. Charles E. Grassley July 26, 2021 Page 2 of 2

We appreciate your consideration and are available to answer any questions or provide additional information.

nom KI

Very truly yo

Michael L. Whitlock Charles B. Molster, III

Bill Stanley

Damon W.D. Wright Nina J. Ginsberg

Edward B. MacMahon, Jr.

Kimberly Ang Craig C. Reilly John R. Ates

Kathleen J.L. Holmes Sheila M. Costin Ellen D. Marcus Andrea Moseley Jon Bernstein Leslie Silverman Rachel Martin Laurie L. Kirkland Katherine L. McKnight

Tara R. Zurawski William B. Porter David Mercer Lucia Anna Trigiani

Lucia Anna Trigiani
Bernard J. DiMuro
Brian L. Mizer
James O. Broccoletti
Bill Cummings
R. Scott Caulkins
Andrew Peterson

Fernando Bohorquez, Jr. Carla Jordan-Detamore

Ira S. Hoffman

William D. Dolan, III Jerome P. Aquino Charles D. Austin Sean P. Tonolli Patrick F. Stokes Portia Bamiduro Chenwei Wang Gillis Eleanor Vuono

Aurelia Briscoe Jonathan Fahey Ahmed J. Davis

Heather L. Mulholland

Miles Galbraith Dwight Crawley Kristina A. Wolfe Daniel Grooms Preston Smith David P. Baugh Donald E. Harris Pierre C. Hines Brittany Davidson John C. Kiyonaga Harmony L. Jones Robert L. Jenkins, Jr.

Justin Golart Avier Gaitan

Michael W. Robinson John O. Iweanoge II

Lavonda Graham-Williams Kwamina Thomas Williford

**Douglas Smith** 

Carter Burwell James J. Holt Paul J. Nathanson Uzo Asonye Lasagna Wilhite Tammi D. Walker Edna Ruth Vincent

Mark Thrash

Vernida R. Chaney Aaron Gleaton Clay David E. Marvin Charlie Gokey Charles F. Connolly Andrew M. Stewart Karen L. Dunn Alan Yamamoto

Ariel B. Glickman Benjamin L. Hatch Craig Guthery Tobias Tobler Michael Sprano Greg Hunter Sherry D. Soanes Jesse Hubbard

Courtney B. Schaefer Salvador M. Bezos John O'Connor Nienke Grossman Carla Brown Anand Ramana