September 3, 2021

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

This letter is to offer our strong support for the confirmation of Charlotte Sweeney to the United States District Court for the District of Colorado.

We are attorneys at a number of different law firms who practice employment law and, in that capacity, have represented companies or management in matters in which Charlotte was our opposing counsel. Many of us have spoken with her at professional legal presentations, served with her on various committees and boards, and co-authored articles with her. All of this has often involved matters that can be very challenging, with significant passions and tensions involved, including those imposed by short deadlines and complicated work demands.

We have each found Charlotte to demonstrate the highest qualities of integrity, courtesy and curiosity, the very cornerstones of our profession. She is knowledgeable, experienced, prepared, professional, prompt, and thoughtful. In our work with her, it would be common to colloquially refer to our relationships as those of "opposing counsel." And while we have each zealously advocated for our respective clients – as has Charlotte – we have found her to be someone who, first, listened to what we have had to say and who then took the time to explain her own position to us in return. In this way, our relationships have been less a matter of formally "opposing" than mutually pursuing our roles as officers of the court.

We write to express our belief that she will be an impartial, prepared, and reasoned jurist and to offer our support for her nomination.

Bill C. Berger

June Laird

Kevin D. Allen
Jude Biggs
Greg Eurich
Michelle B. Ferguson
Sean Gallagher
Cathy Havener Greer
Laura J. Hazen
Jeff Johnson
William J. Kelly III
Josh Kirkpatrick
Susan Klopman

David D. Powell, Jr., former shareholder, Ogletree Deakins

Brett Painter

Juli E. Lapin Ryan P. Lessmann Amy L. Miletich Bronwyn H. Pepple Laurie Rust Donald Samuels Christine A. Samsel David H. Stacy Susan Strebel Sperber Danielle Urban Steve Zweck-Bronner