05/23/2022

Chairman Richard Durbin Senate Judiciary Committee 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Ranking Member Charles Grassley Senate Judiciary Committee 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley,

We are writing to you as current and former law enforcement officials from across the United States in support of the nomination of Steve Dettelbach as Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF).

As law enforcement leaders, we've seen gun violence spike across the country during the past two years, devastating families, and communities. We know it takes an all-hands-on-deck approach to keep our communities safe. A cornerstone of any comprehensive approach to addressing gun crime is ATF. ATF plays a critical role in ensuring the safety of our residents by stopping illegal guns from entering our communities, investigating the trafficking of illegal guns, and regulating the gun industry to root out bad actors.

To truly fulfill its mission, ATF needs a strong leader, but it's been nearly a decade since we've had a Senate-confirmed director at the agency. There is an urgent need for leadership that can bring the agency into the 21st Century and be the partner we need in this urgent moment. We are confident that Steve Dettelbach is the right person to lead the agency and should be confirmed immediately.

Steve Dettelbach has more than two decades of experience as a prosecutor, including serving as US Attorney for the Northern District of Ohio and in the Department of Justice. During his career as a prosecutor, Steve worked with federal, state, and local law enforcement to hold violent criminals - including murderers, child predators, and more than 40 human traffickers - accountable. He has worked on cases ranging from terrorism to hate crimes to gun crimes.

Steve Dettelbach brings a proven record of successfully working with law enforcement partners - including partnerships with the ATF - to fight violent crime, domestic violent extremism, and religious violence to prosecute complex cases and take down criminal elements. Dettelbach is the strong leader ATF needs and will be ready to provide strong enforcement of our gun laws from day one. He knows that ATF doesn't make the laws, it enforces them — and his long history in law enforcement shows he knows exactly how to do just that.

As law enforcement professionals, we need a strong partner at the helm of the ATF to support our efforts to reduce gun violence and curb the trafficking of illegal guns. For these reasons, we respectfully urge the Senate to swiftly confirm Steve Dettelbach as the Director of ATF.

Sincerely,

James P. Abbott Chief of Police West Orange, NJ

Hassan Aden Former Chief of Police Greenville, NC Police Department

Michael Atwell District Attorney Alpine County, CA District Attorney's Office

Rochelle Bilal Sheriff Philadelphia, PA Sheriff's Office

Christopher C. Blue Chief of Police Chapel Hill, NC Police Department

Reginald L. Burgess Chief of Police North Charleston, SC Police Department

Ronald Campurciani Chief of Police Mooresville, NC Police Department

Craig Capri Chief of Police Eustis, FL Police Department

John Choi County Attorney Ramsey County, MN Attorney's Office

Tommy Clark, Jr. Chief of Police Grambling, LA Police Department

Jerry Clayton Sheriff Washtenaw County, MI Sheriff's Office

Antonio DeVaul Chief of Police Takoma Park, MD Police Department Adrian Diaz Chief of Police Seattle, WA Police Department

Derrick Diggs Chief of Police Fort Myers, FL Police Department

Dornat Drummond Interim Chief of Police Cleveland, OH Division of Police

Jim Eisenhut Chief of Police Indian Creek Village, FL Police Department

Wayne Emerick Sheriff Bedford County, PA Sheriff's Office

Mike Feuer City Attorney Los Angeles, CA City Attorney's Office

Patrick Finlon Chief of Police Cary, IL Police Department

David A. Giorgi Chief of Police Marlborough, MA Police Department

Christopher Hartung Chief of Police Vermilion, OH Police Department

Gina Hawkins Chief of Police Fayetteville, NC Police Department

W.H. Holbrook Chief of Police Columbia, SC Police Department

Wesley Holt Sheriff Greene County, TN Sheriff's Office Ronney Howard Chief of Police Alexandria, LA Police Department

Mark Howie Sheriff Wahkiakum County, WA Sheriff's Office

Daniel Isom Public Safety Director City of St. Louis, MO Department of Public Safety

William Jessup Police Chief South Milwaukee, WI Police Department

Jody Kasper Chief of Police Northampton, MA Police Department

Paul Kifer Chief of Police Hagerstown, MD Police Department

George Lichman Chief of Police Rocky River, OH Police Department

David Magnusson Former Chief of Police El Portal, FL Police Department

Jason Massimino Chief of Police Berkeley Heights, NJ Police Department

Michael D. McCoy Chief of Police / Public Safety Director Washington, IL Police Department

Joel Merry Sheriff Sagadahoc County, ME Sheriff's Office

Mark Newport Chief of Police Portsmouth, NH Police Department Larry Mincks Sheriff Washington County, OH Sheriff's Office

Brad Moericke Chief of Police Sumner, WA Police Department

Louis Molepske, Jr. District Attorney Portage County, WI District Attorney's Office

James Mosciski Sheriff Arenac County, MI Sheriff's Department

Brian Ohlin Chief of Police Brunswick, OH Police Department

Kathleen O'Toole Former Chief of Police / Police Commissioner Seattle, WA; Boston, MA Police Departments

Billy Parker Chief of Police Woodward, OK Police Department

Keith Porch Chief Mansfield, OH Police Department

John F. Quinn Chief of Police Waukee, IA Police Department

Luther Reynolds Chief of Police Charleston, SC Police Department

Brent Roalson Chief of Police Ottawa, IL Police Department

Eric Robins Chief of Police Sugar Land, TX Police Department Tim Roddy Chief of Police Struthers, OH Police Department

Jonathan Sahrbeck District Attorney Cumberland County, ME District Attorney's Office

Edward Santiago Chief of Police Sunny Isles Beach, FL Police Department

Kevin J. Schneider Sheriff Polk County, IA Sheriff's Office

Glenn Scott Police Commissioner Mount Vernon, NY Police Department

Scott Shepherd Chief Cottage Grove, OR Police Department

Rodney Smith Sheriff Athens County, OH Sheriff's Office

Brandon Standley Chief of Police Bellefontaine, OH Police Department

Kim Stewart Sheriff Doña Ana County, NM Sheriff's Office

Joey Terrell Sheriff Habersham County, GA Sheriff's Office

Claudio Trevino Chief of Police Laredo, TX Police Department

Mike Tusken Chief of Police Duluth, MN Police Department Rod Underhill Former District Attorney Multnomah County, OR District Attorney's Office

Roy Vasque Chief of Police Lawrence, MA Police Department

Andrew Warren State Attorney Hillsborough County, FL State Attorney's Office

Richard Watson Sheriff St. Clair County, IL Sheriff's Office

David T. Weigand Chief of Police Crestwood, IL Police Department

David Wermes Chief of Police Wauconda, IL Police Department

Paul F. Williams Chief of Police Springfield, MO Police Department

Gilbert L. Wilson Sheriff Camden County, NJ Sheriff's Office