

The American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry (AAAP) expresses its strong support for the President's selection of Dr. Rahul Gupta as Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)

Given that drug overdose deaths reached an estimated 93,331 in 2020, increasing by nearly 30 percent, or more than 21,000 over the past year, it's critical that ONDCP is led by a strong and effective leader with a proven track record at tackling the opioid use disorder epidemic.

As West Virginia's state health officer and Commissioner of the West Virginia Bureau for Public Health, Dr. Gupta has a proven track record in leading the state's opioid crisis response efforts and initiating a number of pioneering health initiatives.

AAAP stands ready to work with Dr. Gupta if confirmed to direct ONDCP and continue our efforts nationwide to address all substance use disorders and co-occurring psychiatric disorders that further complicate treatment and devastate the lives of individuals, families and communities.

Sincerely,

Ihud. Semonsolo

Board of Directors

Kevin Sevarino, MD, PhD PRESIDENT

Shelly F. Greenfield, MD, MPII Kevin Gray, MD
IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT MEMBER AT LARGE John A. Renner, Jr., MD CHAIR PAST PRESIDENT COUNCIL

Larissa Mooney, MD PRESIDENT ELECT

John Mariani, MD VICE PRESIDENT Rebecca Payne, MD Tim Fong, MD TREASURER

Kathryn Cates-Wessel CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Karen Drexler, MD MEDICAL DIRECTOR

Adina Bowe, MD CHAIR EQUITY DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION COMMITTEE

Michael Hoefer, MD CHAIR EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Thomas Kosten, MD EDITOR-IN-CHIEF THE AMERICAN JOURNAL ON ADDICTIONS

Frances Levin, MD GRANT LIAISON David Lott, MD Alena Balasanova, MD

David Marcovitz, MD CHAIR EARLY CAREER COMMITTEE Carla Marienfeld, MD

Sanchit Maruti, MD
DIRECTOR, ADDICTIONS AND THEIR
TREATMENT COURSE

David J. Stiffler, MD
EDITOR, AAAP NEWSLETTER

Robert Milin, MD CHAIR INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE Thomas Penders, MD
CHAIR, CPD COMMITTEE

Ismene Petrakis, MD CHAIR, AREA DIRECTORS Richard Rosenthal, MD CHAIR, PUBLIC POLICY

Andrew Saxon, MD CHAIR, RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Jose Vito, MD CHAIR, MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE Carol Weiss, MD CHAIR SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Laurence Westreich, MD CHAIR, LAW AND ADDICTION Danae DiRocco, MD, MPH Robert Rymowicz, DO