Subcommittee on Oversight, Agency Action, Federal Rights and Federal Courts

Ben Sasse (NE)


Republican members

  • Chuck Grassley (IA) Picture of Chuck Grassley
  • Mike Crapo (ID) Picture of Mike Crapo
  • John Kennedy (LA) Picture of John Kennedy
  • Orrin G. Hatch (UT) Picture of Orrin G. Hatch
  • Michael S. Lee (UT) Picture of Michael S. Lee
  • Jeff Flake (AZ) Picture of Jeff Flake
  • Thom Tillis (NC) Picture of Thom Tillis

Richard Blumenthal (CT)

Ranking Member

Democratic members

  • Patrick Leahy (VT) Picture of Patrick Leahy
  • Sheldon Whitehouse (RI) Picture of Sheldon Whitehouse
  • Amy Klobuchar (MN) Picture of Amy Klobuchar
  • Christopher A. Coons (DE) Picture of Christopher A. Coons
  • Mazie Hirono (HI) Picture of Mazie Hirono
  • Kamala Harris (CA) Picture of Kamala Harris

Jurisdiction of the Subcomittee on Oversight, Agency Action, Federal Rights and Federal Courts includes:

  1. Federal court jurisdiction, administration and management
  2. Rules of evidence and procedure
  3. Creation of new courts and judgeships
  4. Bankruptcy
  5. Legal reform and liability issues
  6. Local courts in territories and possessions
  7. Administrative practices and procedures including agency rulemaking and adjudication
  8. Judicial review of agency action
  9. Third party enforcement of federal rights
  10. Oversight of the Department of Justice grant programs, as well as government waste and abuse
  11. private relief bills other than immigration
  12. Oversight of the Foreign Claims Settlement Act