ALUMNI OF U.S. ATTORNEY'S OFFICES, EDNY & SDNY IN SUPPORT OF THE NOMINATION OF EUNICE C. LEE

June 7, 2021

Senator Richard Durbin Chairman, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Senator Charles Grassley Ranking Member, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Durbin and Ranking Member Grassley:

We, the undersigned, are former federal prosecutors and alumni of the United States Attorneys' Offices for the Southern and Eastern Districts of New York. We write in support of the nomination of Eunice C. Lee to be a judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit and urge her swift consideration and confirmation.

Ms. Lee is currently an Assistant Federal Defender who works as an appellate attorney for the Federal Defenders of New York, Inc., and she previously served for more than two decades in the Office of the Appellate Defender in New York City. If confirmed, Ms. Lee would be the first federal public defender, and only the second African American woman, ever to serve as a judge on the Second Circuit.

Since graduating from Yale Law School and serving as a law clerk to two federal judges, Ms. Lee has spent over 20 years representing hundreds of clients in state and federal courts of appeals. As an adjunct law professor, she helped design and teach a course on appellate advocacy at New York University School of Law. In short, she is a brilliant, accomplished advocate, who is supremely well qualified to serve on the bench.

We enthusiastically support Ms. Lee not just because of her sterling credentials. We believe that after a career as a public defender serving indigent clients in criminal cases, Ms. Lee would bring a unique and under-represented perspective to the job of hearing and deciding federal appeals. Included among the judges on the Second Circuit Court of Appeals are many former federal prosecutors, including a number of our extremely talented former colleagues. We know that our former colleagues' work as federal prosecutors continues to provide critical experience that aids their efforts to administer justice in many of the cases that come before them. We also recognize, however, that the experience of representing indigent clients in criminal cases is no less valuable for a judge attempting to administer justice. And yet not a single judge who has ever served on the Second Circuit has ever worked as a federal public defender.

We applaud the Biden Administration's efforts to nominate talented lawyers who would bring professional diversity to our federal courts. Nowhere is that diversity more needed than in our own Second Circuit. In Eunice Lee, the President has nominated an incredibly talented lawyer and dedicated public servant, whose career representing the most vulnerable among us will bring a critical, unique perspective to the bench. Her deep commitment to the preservation of civil rights for all make her the right candidate at the right time for this important seat.

Respectfully submitted,

Jonathan Abernethy (SDNY 2001-2008)

Daniel R. Alonso (EDNY 1996-2005)

Marion Bachrach (EDNY 1980-1986)

Jillian Berman (SDNY 2004-2013)

Michael P. Beys (EDNY 2000-2005)

Douglas Bloom (SDNY 2009-2015)

Michael Bosworth (SDNY 2005-2007, 2008-13)

Jacob Buchdahl (SDNY 2002-2007)

Roger A. Burlingame (EDNY 2004-2013)

Sean Casey (EDNY 2004-2009)

Leslie Cornfeld (EDNY 1995-2001)

Shawn Crowley (SDNY 2014-2020)

Kelly T. Currie (EDNY 1999-2010, 2014-2016)

Jenna Dabbs (SDNY 2006-2014)

Christian Everdell (SDNY 2007-2016)

Michael Ferrara (SDNY 2010-2020)

Morris Fodeman (EDNY 2003-2010)

Lee J. Freedman (EDNY 2002-2011)

Christopher D. Frey (SDNY 2008-2015)

James D. Gatta (EDNY 2007-2018)

Andrew M. Genser (EDNY 1998-2004)

Daniel Gitner (SDNY 1997-2005)

John Gleeson (EDNY 1985-1994)

Helen Gredd (SDNY 1985-1993)

Ilene Jaroslaw (EDNY 1991-2013)

Darren LaVerne (EDNY 2010-2016)

Jonathan Leiken (SDNY 2001-2004)

Matthew Levine (EDNY (2001-2007)

Brian E. Maas (EDNY 1980-1986)

David Massey (SDNY 2004-2013)

Suzanne McDermott (EDNY 2000-2008)

Denis J. McInerney (SDNY 1989-1994)

Gordon Mehler (EDNY 1984-1999)

Marshall L. Miller (EDNY 1999-2003, 2006-2014)

William J. Muller (EDNY 1980-2020)

Mary Mulligan (SDNY 1997-2002)

Christopher L. Nasson (EDNY 2013-2016)

Rosemary Nidiry (SDNY 2001-2005, 2007-2015)

Jessica Ortiz (SDNY 2008-2016)

Winston Paes (EDNY 2008-2017)

Catherine Palmer (EDNY 1985-1994, 1996-1998)

Tai Park (SDNY 1989-1999)

Guy Petrillo (SDNY 1990-97, 2008-09)

Patricia A. Pileggi (EDNY 1983-2004)

Pablo Quiñones (SDNY 2004-2012)

Robert M. Radick (EDNY 2003-2009)

Paul Radvany (SDNY 1997-2007)

Lauren J. Resnick (EDNY 1993-2003)

Jennifer Rodgers (SDNY 2000-2013)

Daniel S. Ruzumna (SDNY 1999-2005)

Harry Sandick (SDNY 2001-2006)

David Sarratt (EDNY 2010-2014)

Paul Schoeman (EDNY 1998-2003, 2007-2009)

Alexandra Shapiro (SDNY 1994-1999)

John Siffert (SDNY 1974-1979)

Daniel Silver (EDNY 2006-2016)

Patrick Smith (SDNY 1995-2002)

Andrey Spektor (EDNY 2014-2021)

George A. Stamboulidis (EDNY 1989-2000)

Sung-Hee Suh (EDNY 1994-1999)

Eric Tirschwell (EDNY 1997-2002)

Michael Tremonte (EDNY 2008-2011)

Jeffrey Udell (SDNY 1999-2005)

Alan Vinegrad (EDNY 1990-2002)

Paul T. Weinstein (EDNY 1989-2007) Andrew Weissmann (EDNY 1991-2006) Jonathan A. Willens (SDNY 1995-2000) Milton Williams (SDNY 1990-1994) Alex Willscher (SDNY 2004-2010) Frank Wohl (SDNY 1971-1979)