March 10, 2022

The Honorable Charles E. Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington D.C. 20510

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles E. Grassley Ranking Minority Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington D.C. 20510

Re: Letter in Support of Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson, Nominee for the Supreme Court.

Dear Senators:

We, the undersigned former Attorneys General of the states and jurisdictions, write to express our strong support for President Biden's nomination of Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson to the Supreme Court.

Judge Jackson, who currently serves on the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, has outstanding qualifications to serve on the Supreme Court. Her impressive legal career has provided her with many opportunities; and she has experienced the justice system from all perspectives - as a federal appellate judge, district court judge, vice-chair of the U.S. Sentencing Commission, private practitioner, assistant public defender, and U.S. Supreme Court clerk for Associate Justice Stephen Breyer. Her outstanding academic credentials, integrity, and commitment to following the facts, impartiality, fairness, and the rule of law are the qualities essential to serving on the Supreme Court.

As former Attorneys General who served as the chief legal officer of our respective states and jurisdictions, we comprise a diverse group of individuals with differing legal backgrounds and experiences with our justice system. Our ranks include a former President, two Vice-Presidents, Governors, Secretaries of State, legislators, private practitioners, public defenders, State Supreme Court Justices, state court trial judges, U.S. Attorneys, Cabinet Secretaries, U.S. Senators, and U.S. Representatives.

We understand and appreciate the qualifications and background that nominees for the Supreme Court should possess, and Judge Jackson has them all, including:

- Extensive legal experience, both criminal and civil, with a deep understanding of law and its impact
- Ability to examine issues from multiple perspectives, following the facts with fairness and integrity

• Outstanding academic background

Judge Jackson has been confirmed by the Senate on a bipartisan basis three times, including last year, 2021, when she was confirmed to the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit. We urge the Senate Judiciary Committee to approve her nomination as quickly as possible, with a Senate final confirmation vote to follow shortly thereafter.

Thank you for the consideration of our views.

Respectfully,

Robert Abrams New York

Thurbert Baker Georgia

Frankie Sue Del Papa Nevada

Peter Harvey New Jersey

Hubert H. Humphrey, III Minnesota

George Jepsen Connecticut

Lisa Madigan Illinois

Patricia Madrid New Mexico

Dustin McDaniel Arkansas

Jeff Modisett Indiana

Mike Moore Mississippi Ronald Amemiya Hawaii

Jeff Amestoy Vermont

Paul Bardacke New Mexico

Bill Baxley Alabama

Francis X. Bellotti Massachusetts

Bruce Botelho Alaska

Margery Bronster Hawaii

Richard Bryan (former U.S. Senator) Nevada

Roland Burris (former U.S. Senator) Illinois

Bob Butterworth Florida

Bonnie Campbell Iowa

Pamela Carter Indiana

Ben Chandler Kentucky

Steve Clark Arkansas

Martha Coakley Massachusetts Mike Cody Tennessee

Walter Cohen Pennsylvania

Jack Conway Kentucky

Robert Cooper Tennessee

Joe Curran Maryland

John Degnan New Jersey

Matthew Denn Delaware

Jerry Diamond Vermont

James Doyle Wisconsin

John Easton Vermont

Rufus Edmisten North Carolina

Drew Edmondson Oklahoma

Zulima Farber New Jersey

Lee Fisher Ohio

Joseph Foster New Hampshire Doug Gansler Maryland

Terry Goddard Arizona

Jan Graham Utah

Christine Gregoire Washington

Scott Harshbarger Massachusetts

Neil Hartigan Illinois

Mike Hatch Minnesota

Heidi Heitkamp (former U.S. Senator) North Dakota

Jim Hood Mississippi

Jim Jones Idaho

Drew Ketterer Maine

Wayne Kidwell Idaho

Peter Kilmartin Rhode Island

G. Oliver Koppell New York

Ted Kulongoski Oregon Joe Lieberman (former U.S. Senator) Connecticut

Alicia Limtiaco Guam

Jahna Lindemuth Alaska

Bill Lockyer California

David Louie Hawaii

Patrick Lynch Rhode Island

Robert Marks Hawaii

Brian McKay Nevada

Frank Mendicino Wyoming

Tom Miller Iowa (current Attorney General)

Janet Mills (current Governor) Maine

Janet Napolitano Arizona

Irvin Nathan District of Columbia

Charlie Oberly Delaware

Sam Olens Georgia Jeff Pine Rhode Island

Deborah T. Poritz New Jersey

Warren Price Hawaii

Tom Rath New Hampshire

Clarine Nardi Riddle Connecticut

Hector Reichard Puerto Rico

Nancy Rogers Ohio

Steve Rosenthal Virginia

Brian Sandoval Nevada

Bill Sorrell Vermont

Robert Spagnoletti District of Columbia

Lori Swanson Minnesota

Mary Sue Terry Virginia

James Tierney Maine

Anthony F. Troy Virginia Jim Guy Tucker Arkansas

Michael C. Turpen Oklahoma

John Knox Walkup Tennessee

Robert Wefald North Dakota

James Zazzali New Jersey

Cc: Members, Senate Judiciary Committee