January 22, 2015

The Honorable Charles Grassley Chairman, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 224 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy Ranking Member, Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate 437 Russell Senate Building Washington, DC 20510

RE: LORETTA LYNCH

Dear Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Leahy:

We write to support the confirmation of Loretta Lynch as Attorney General of the United States.

We are all former United States Attorneys. Some of us served in Republican administrations, some in Democratic administrations. We all share a deep commitment to the rule of law and an abiding respect for the Department of Justice.

A few of us served with Ms. Lynch in the Clinton administration. Others had dealings with her when she was in private practice and still others when she served again as U.S. Attorney in the E.D.N.Y.. We firmly believe that Ms. Lynch will make an outstanding Attorney General. And, we are very pleased that the President has nominated a sitting U.S. Attorney to be Attorney General. Indeed, if confirmed, this would be the first time in almost two centuries that a U.S. Attorney would have been directly elevated to Attorney General.

As you might expect, we are proud of our service in the Justice Department and believe that serving as U.S. Attorney provides a strong background to be Attorney General. Both because of that and because of her own strong personal qualifications, we believe that Ms. Lynch has the experience, temperament, independence, integrity, and judgment to immediately assume this critically important position.

We strongly support her speedy confirmation.

Sincerely,

David B. Barlow

United States Attorney, D. UT (2011-2014)

Wayne A. Budd

United States Attorney, D. MA (1989-1992)

Mark T. Calloway

United States Attorney, W.D. NC (1994-2001)

Paul K. Charlton

United States Attorney, D. AZ (2001-2007)

Paul E. Coggins

United States Attorney, N.D. TX (1993-2001)

Robert C. Corrente

United States Attorney, D. RI (2004-2009)

The Honorable Charles Grassley The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy Page 2 - 1/22/15

E. Bart Daniel

United States Attorney, D. SC (1989-1992)

Patrick J. Fitzgerald

United States Attorney, N.D. IL (2001-2012)

Walter C. Holton

United States Attorney, M.D. NC (1994-2001)

Scott R. Lassar

United States Attorney, N.D. IL (1997-2001)

Deborah Rhodes

United States Attorney, S.D. AL (2005-2009)

Richard B. Roper

United States Attorney, N.D. TX (2004-2009)

Jack W. Selden

United States Attorney, N.D. AL (1992-1993)

Charles J. Stevens

United States Attorney, E.D. CA (1993-1997)

Gregory A. Vega

United States Attorney, S.D. CA (1999-2001)

Joseph D. Whitley

United States Attorney, N.D. GA (1990-1993)

M.D. GA (1981-1986)

Richard H. Deane, Jr.

United States Attorney, N.D. GA (1998-2001)

Thomas B. Heffelfinger,

United States Attorney, D. MN (2001-2006)

G. Douglas Jones

United States Attorney, N.D. AL (1997-2001)

Matthew D. Orwig

United States Attorney, E.D. TX (2001-2007)

Jose de Jesus Rivera

United States Attorney, D. AZ (1998-2001)

Richard A. Rossman

United States Attorney, E.D. MI (1980-1981)

Donald K. Stern

United States Attorney, D. MA (1993-2001)

Jeffrey A. Taylor

United States Attorney, D. DC (2006-2009)

Kenneth L. Wainstein

United States Attorney, D. DC (2004-2006)